Getting Approved for Financial Aid on Coursera — I Did, So Can You

Lisa Hallman
3 min readJun 8, 2017

I wanted to take a specialization track on Coursera, called Finance for Everyone and it’s run by McMaster University. It’s a package of five courses and I felt it would give me a thorough grounding in finance that I never took in school.

Getting a GED is what I did to pass high school. It’s a diploma that is considered a high-school equivalency.

Most courses you can audit on Coursera, but in this case, I didn’t just want to audit it. I wanted feedback, to do assignments and actually get a certificate at the end. Today, I got an email that said you’ve been approved for financial aid.

Yippee, hooray!

So since there are others out there who are on disability, who do not have enough money to pay their online fees which I believe to be reasonable if you have money. But as such, I do not have any extra money, but I do have extra time. There are many courses on Coursera that are free but come without a certificate. I recently did one called Learning How to Learn, and that was an excellent course.

--

--

Lisa Hallman

Writer, photographer, wanderer. The only constant is change.