Why I Am Not a K-pop Fan Anymore

Savannah Pie
3 min readMay 18, 2020

When I was younger, I was obsessed with K-pop and it had a HUGE impact on my life. I first discovered K-pop around 2009–2010 when I was first starting high school. One day I was browsing make-up tutorials and somehow I came across 2NE1’s “Clap Your Hands”, and after that I was HOOKED. I couldn’t get enough, it was like an addiction. I listened to everything from Girls’ Generation, BigBang, Kara, Super Junior, Brown Eyed Girls, After School, and of course my favorite group, 2NE1. As the years passed, I grew more and more obsessed to the point that I was trying to dress like them, learn Korean, and find ways to get to Korea. I would buy albums and have K-pop posters all over my room. I never had the money to go to concerts but if I did, I am sure I would have gone.

When I started college, this is the point where I believe that I was slowly beginning to drift out of the K-pop world. I still listened to it and enjoyed it but I was not as invested as I was when I was younger. Here are some reasons why I stopped being a K-pop fan.

1. All my favorite groups disbanded or stopped releasing music.

This is a sad reality but K-pop idols can’t be idols forever. Life continues and as newer and younger groups debut, the older groups disband. Only a handful of 2nd generation K-pop groups are still around and…

--

--