The Universe Knows

Lisa Marie
4 min readApr 17, 2019

--

This past weekend was my good friends birthday. She lives an hour from my house and so I decided to make the drive, which ended up being a trek, to get to her house. What I got though, was far more than I bargained for.

The weather on my way to my friend's house. We were stopped.

We had this amazing time. I was in desperate need of some cup-filling and oh my did I get it. I got it in the form of the best food I’ve ever had, laughs, animal petting, human touch, fresh air, and friendship.

I arrived to some homemade salad. And homemade pickles. Homemade dressing. Homemade all the things. It was the best salad I’ve ever had. The second course was two soups, both with their own three different toppings. Then we snacked on homemade brown sugar cookies. We took a walk with the puppies and they’re good people and leave their phones at home. I definitely had mine and I wanted to take pictures of the beauty but I didn’t. It was nice to be in the moment.

We decided it was time to go to Denver. We took a long way and got to see their old neighborhoods and the rich neighborhoods and I’ve never seen anything like those homes. I’d really appreciate if those owners could contact me so I can housesit for them.

We stopped for cocktails at Union Station which is super cool. After spending too much money on drinks we thought it might be time to make our own food. Well okay, Justin offered. So we didn’t say no to that. But first, he took us to this secret place where we got this gorgeous and quiet view of the city. It’s a spot he discovered on a bike ride.

While at the store shopping for ingredients it became apparent we had discovered a foolproof way of determining if someone is an alien or not. All you have to ask is this: Do you want queso? Or, a good alternative option is: Do you like queso? Their answer will surely lead to the truth.

Then we went home for more courses. Guacamole, salsa, chips, tacos, and of course queso. And more cookies. From there we just played. Till the wee hours. Then it was time for sleep.

The next morning I had french press coffee and a bacon and egg sandwich. I left to go home.

Near their house is this really trendy looking shopping center. I stopped in because I saw a bookstore which had caught my eye before. I went in to check it out and quickly fell in love. Initially, I was looking for a certain book but couldn’t find it. However, I did find:

Life changer guys. Guess what the craziest thing is? I just found out this book was released today. Friends, I bought this a couple of days ago. It wasn’t even on display. It was near where my other book should have been somewhere on the bottom part of a shelf. So how in the world?

To be completely honest I picked it up because I loved the cover. It’s covered in a type of brown kraft paper with ONLY the title and a hand drawn man holding a leash walking under a rain cloud on the front. It’s raining on him. No author on the front. Apparently, this is a rare thing in the literary world. Don’t worry though, underneath the beautifully simplistic cover, there’s this gorgeous colorful book cover splattered with patterns and colors and a barely noticeable handwritten-looking title and author on the spine. I started reading it. The pages are thick and there’s ample space for personal notes. I sat down to read more. It kept getting better and better.

It’s honestly changed my life. The discovery of the author and his podcast with Science Mike called the Liturgists has also been amazing for my mental health today. It’s only been a couple of days and I feel so much better than I have in a long time. Feeling thankful.

And now an excerpt:

When God Is THIS

When God is THIS, God is here.

When God is that, God is dead.

Do your idols make you happy, my love?

If they do, then play with them with a full heart.

Worship them. Lift your arms to the sky and dance with them.

Dress them and paint their fingernails.

Give them as many heads or eyeballs as you’d like.

But when the paint begins to peel or the brass begins to tarnish

Feel free to throw them into the flames of Love.

And peer into the reflection of your own Divine Face.

--

--

Lisa Marie

Is this where I tell you all about me? Too much stuff! Crafts, humor, my fam, friends, nature, yoga, spirituality and other sometimes-basic things.