Psychological Catch Phrases that Did Not Exist 30 Years Ago

Lisa Fitzgerald
3 min readSep 5, 2022

But I Wish They Did

A terra-cotta sculpture of a face with big messed up hair, a surprise look and open mouth, which is meant to be a water fountain set on a brick wall but no water is coming out of the mouth.
Photo by Author, Lisa Fitzgerald

As the moral fabric of society crumbles before my eyes, I noticed of late the usage of some really colorful psychological phrases that were not around when I was growing up, or at least for the first half of my life. If I had heard any of these words earlier, maybe I could have been better equipped to handle the ups and downs of life:

· “Gas Lighting”. This term describes when a controlling person convinces someone that they are losing their mind, therefore leading the victim to lose confidence and to question themselves. This phrase originates from the 1944 movie “Gaslight”, which is a must-see indeed. The gas lighter often says: “You never listen…”, “I told you that, don’t you remember?”, “What’s wrong with you?”, and “That never happened, you must be making things up!” The absolute worst is when an abuser accuses you of being the abuser! I did not know there was a name for this behavior until several years after I left such a situation.

· “Love Bombing”. I’m hearing this one more and more with the rise of internet dating fraud. This tactic was used over the centuries well before the internet era, but I do not recall any prior label for this conduct. Love bombing is when a new love interest comes on very strongly, profusely complimenting and showering gifts upon the…

--

--