What Happens When You Visit The Penis Museum…

Lisa Fitzgerald
2 min readJul 28, 2023

Well, everything you look at for the rest of the day is shaped like a Penis!

Photo taken at the entrance of The Icelandic Phallological Museum by author, Lisa Fitzgerald
Photo taken by author, of a streetlight in another part of Reykjavík but should have been placed in front of the “Penis Museum” instead.
Photo taken of hotel key fob on the same day, by author

On a quiet lazy day in Reykjavík, Iceland, while continuing my pursuit to stretch my comfort zone, I decided to visit two places I normally would not have gone. The Punk Rock Museum and then the Penis Museum. I wanted to open my mind and hey, maybe I would learn something. I certainly did.

At the Punk Rock Museum, I descended down the stairs of a defunct public rest room to learn about the punk music scene that was developing in Iceland way back when I was too busy focusing on the NY punk music scene at CBGB’s.

At The Icelandic Phallological Museum, I had the fortune of perusing the world’s largest display of penises and penile parts. On that day, I learned more history and folklore than I ever needed to know about the male genitalia of humans, animals, and elves.

Even though I could not “un-see” what I saw that day, I came back with some really great pictures (although I deleted most of the pictures from the Phallological Museum before I got home) and some interesting topics to discuss when meeting friends old and new.

Thank you for reading-please comment if you have been to any fascinating museums worth visiting as well!

--

--