Cresting Time: Day 22

Part 22 of 31

Lisa Walton
Let’s talk About That . . .

--

Photo by Haley Phelps on Unsplash

The dogs frolicked in the surf as we made the our way back to the house. I had a hard time cajoling them up to the patio, but when I walked back out with two balls of dog food they came running.

I didn’t see Mom or Dad as I made my way through the house, pulled on my swimsuit or jumped into the pool.

Forty minutes later I was feeling both exhausted and invigorated. Something about being in the water both drains and fills me with energy. I always feel spent after my morning workouts, but also clear-headed and ready to tackle anything that comes my way.

At least I used to feel that way. Now, I just felt tired and wired, but in an anxious-energy kind of way. I couldn’t put my finger on exactly why I was feeling apprehensive. But as I climbed out of the pool and wrapped myself in the foreign smelling towels my stomach quivered.

I tried to tell myself I’m just hungry, but that wasn’t it.

In the kitchen I tried to be quiet as I set up the coffee. I thought it was strange that Mom and Dad were still sleeping, but I didn’t want to disturb them. Just as I was pouring my coffee in a Zombi Wars mug I heard voices, or rather a voice, coming from outside. I wandered into the sunroom and peeked out through the curtains.

Mom was pacing on the patio, her cellphone held to her ear. I only heard bits and pieces of her conversation.

“ . . . wasting your time . . .”

“No . . .that’s no it . . . “

“Not why I’m here . . .”

“No idea you’d still be around here . . .”

“Of course not!”

“Stop . . .”

“ . . . that’s ridiculous . . .”

“ . . . don’t understand . . .”

“You have no idea . . . “

“ . . . worst year ever.”

“ . . . again. . . . I mean it.”

“I can’t . . .”

I could only see her profile, but based on the frenetic pace she was moving I sensed she was upset.

Finally she lowered her arm and looked down at her phone. Then she slid into her sweatshirt and trotted down the steps toward the beach.

I shook my head and wandered back into the kitchen. I didn’t want her to think I was watching her. I pulled a Coastal Living magazine from 2017 out of the basket under the window and flipped through it.

Who was she talking to? And why was she so agitated? And where was Dad?

As if in answer to my questions the alarm chimed as the front door opened

“Hey Anna,” Dad said as he came into the kitchen.

“Hi. Want some coffee?”

“Nah, I had some already.”

“Did you run this morning?”

Dad laughed. “No. But I did go exploring. I walked south on the beach for while, then I came back up past the house in search of a coffee shop. I found this really cool little shop, attached to a motel of all things. But it was great. It was called . . . Oh darn. I don’t remember what is was called, but the coffee was dark and hot.”

I almost let the name slide off my tongue, but instead a staled a yawn and hoped Dad didn’t notice my recognition.

“Sounds good,” I said.

“Maybe you should have second cup.” He nodded at my mug. “Zombies, huh? Seems like whoever lives here has a thing for the dark side.”

I felt a tingle on my spine.

“Where’s mom?” He asked.

I debated whether or not to say anything about her phone call. I shook my head and said, “I haven’t seen her this morning.”

“Hmmm . . . I don’t remember her saying anything, but maybe she had some more clients to meet.”

I shrugged.

“I heard they’re doing a movie on the beach tonight. Wanna go?”

I thought of my friends back home partying on the beach tonight.

“What movie?”

“It’s a double feature. Jaws, followed by Cape Fear.”

I raised my eyebrows. Dad laughed. “It’s an old movie. A thriller. It was good. It was set in . . .”

“Let me guess,” I interrupted. “Cape Fear.”

“Bingo,” said Dad. “So what do you say? Want to catch a movie with your old man tonight?”

No. Not really. Probably the last thing I wanted to do. Well, after sitting in the house with my Mom. I wanted to be on that beach with all of my friends celebrating the start of our senior year.

Well, what I really wanted was for things to be normal and to feel comfortable going to a beach party with my friends. I’d actually settle for Netflix and popcorn with Derek.

Since none of those things were options, however, I figured I’d might as well make Dad happy.

“Sure,” I said. “Why not?”

“Awesome.”

***

I spent the rest of the morning on the patio pretending to read my summer reading novel. But I just wasn’t feeling like Pride and Prejudice was particularly relevant to my life. I’d rather we had been assigned some dystopian novel, like Brave New World or Ready Player One. At least one of those might have provided useful coping mechanisms for our current reality.

Instead I listened to podcasts and dozed in the sun.

A bit later, I had no idea how much time had passed, I heard Dad call out. “Hi Meg. Did you have a nice walk?”

I didn’t hear Mom’s answer. But then Dad said, “is everything okay? You look upset.”

“i’m fine,” Mom said. “You were gone a long time this morning.”

“I went for a long walk on the beach. Then I found a cute coffee shop. We should all go for breakfast tomorrow.”

“I don’t know . . .”

“Meg, you need to try to relax . . .”

“I wish everyone would stop telling me to relax. It’s not the easy. It’s probably not even wise with everything . . .”

“Meg.” His voice was firm. “The whole reason we came here was so that we could all relax. Enjoy some ocean air. Soak up some sunshine and act a little bit like normal people. Maybe stop griping at each other every minute and have some fun.”

It got quiet for a minute. I could hear Mom talking, but couldn’t make out what she was saying.

“Fine. Fine. I don’t understand. I never understand. You know what? Maybe we should just go home!” Dad shouted. And then more quietly but loud enough for me to hear, “Or maybe I should just go home!”

Don’t miss a single word! Sign up here to receive each daily installment.

Click here to Read part 23.

__________________________________________________________________

Lisa Walton is a former lawyer, forever teacher and writer/ghostwriter who writes about education, parenting and personal growth. She is a firm believer in the power of a well-told story. She is passionate about helping kids cultivate the curiosity, creativity and confidence to chase their dreams. “It’s never too late to reinvent yourself and craft the life you want to live.” You can find her on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter.

--

--

Lisa Walton
Let’s talk About That . . .

Lisa Walton is a storyteller, content strategist and book coach who believes the right words can change lives. She’ll help you find those words. lisamwalton.com