Journal Series 1.3.

Back to Tropical Hibernation

Lisandra Detulio
journalseries

--

Native animals return to Costa Rica as coronavirus forces humans indoors

Ahead of me was the long hours of flying from Santiago to Panama City and then to San José, jumping on a bus to the city, getting a cab to the bus terminal and finally taking the last bus to Jaco, without any data or wifi nor any form of virtual communication. I was exhausted but still wondering whether my father had arrived safe and what was happening with Covid-19. I finally arrived at my destination, and my host Natalia waited for me in her lovely van packed with surfboards which was at about 10 p.m. She was courteous and drove me to my current home. She sensed my needs and it didn’t seem to bother her as I wasn’t being talkative on our first greet in virtue of my long trip. She showed me what I needed to know in the place I would be staying, where the bathrooms were, and who my roommate was, “Darío not Dário” he stated.

My first sunset in Jaco

For a couple of days, I was able to enjoy spending some time out, in contrast to what I was experiencing in Ilha Grande, this time I had the energy to be outdoors and appreciate it. I am lucky to Be Here Now², to be once again rent-free and foreigner in a country where it holds about five percent of the world biodiversity. Valuing how much I have to explore for the remainder of my time here, being in such a nice environment. Occasionally enjoying the people surrounding me, I am fortunate to feel good about myself these days and to just be here in this moment. I easily got out of my comfort zone, which I have been out of for at least 30% of my life one more time. Per contra, the current scenario of Planet Earth is a bit scary, and freedom has been transformed. I am currently one of the millions all over the world who are in quarantine, implicating I must stay indoors, which is quite ironic because it is something I presently master.

Solitary Lives ― Photo via Toucan Rescue Ranch

In the beginning it wasn’t a concern here in Jaco, nor Costa Rica per se. We still were taking serious precautions which soon came to a change. Switching from an ordinary Sunday afternoon shopping at the grocery store to a Monday evening barely being able to walk into the supermarket due to the crowds, not mentioning the lack of products on the shelves. As by now it’s almost obvious that I avoid crowds, I ran back home right away, not literally because of my torn ACL, and navigated through a couple of news outlets. The city was shutting down schools, bars, restaurants, and beaches, all due to the new virus. I heard from a guest that Subway removed the chairs and tables so people would be compelled to buy their sandwiches to go. Furthermore, our demand at the hostel turned around quickly from 80% to under 10%. We were told to close the swimming pool, and so we did for no more than 24h, as any longer wasn’t necessary; still, the use is limited to 3 people at a time even though as of today there is just roughly more than two people lodging here, aside from my roommate and I. With the owners quarantining at their home with their children, we are left alone in an immense travelers house all to ourselves.

A USA Today story calls Costa Rica a Caribbean island.

On any occasion we have a guest, we have to go through a procedure of checking their passport, where they have been before landing in Costa Rica, advising them to avert social contact, crowds, and outdoors along with committing to washing their hands frequently and following the hygienical protocol. Although I have seen cases of indifference to the pandemic, mostly from the rhetoric of the youth. As some have already heard how unlikely they are to get exposed to the virus, how they wouldn’t fail a supposed treatment on account of their age. I’ve also heard of conspiracies stating it is a scam plotted by the Chinese government to bankrupt the worldwide economy. In Holland the authorities are suggesting for volunteers at a young age to freely become infected with the virus so they would acquire immunity, thusly there would remain mostly young and healthy people in its population, alike to ‘Darwin’s Natural Selection’. Rationally, it’s conducive to the progression of the human species, although communally perceived as brutish. One can’t expect the population to surrender to evolution in its purest form.

“It seems that life does indeed find a way.”
― The Tico Times

Andy Whitfield and his son in Be Here Now

Be Here Now² is a feature documentary which has taught me countless lessons. It’s about Andy Whitfield from the TV show “Spartacus”, who, along with his family, positively fights against a threatening cancer. It could also be a book by “Ram Dass”, which I haven’t read, or an album by the English band “Oasis”.

--

--