RELATIONSHIPS

He chose to be brutally honest instead of dating me. Here’s how I reacted.

When you expect it, but not like this.

Hello, Love
Published in
5 min readJul 2, 2019

--

Last week, I met someone

A few weeks ago, I asked my Facebook network if anyone was part of a specific community to meet new people. A friend of mine answered. He wasn’t practicing himself but knew someone he could introduce me to, so he put us in touch.

We decided to meet at an event around the activity we both practice. We talked, danced, had fun, and surprisingly got along very well. We spent hours walking and listening to music while discussing how rich and intense life can be. We met again a few days later and enjoyed our time together. It was natural, aligned, and compassionate.

During the week, we messaged each other.

I noticed that something was weird.

When I get along with someone, we usually exchange a lot of happy messages or links for articles, songs, videos, or pictures. I love sharing what I like.

We weren’t even close to exchanging 10 messages a day. I could feel a distance that wasn’t the kind of signal I usually get when I get along so well with someone.

--

--

Hello, Love

Jazz singer | Weirdo & Outlier | In love with Humans ❤️