How to install Mixamo addon in Blender 4.0 (Community Fix)

Michael Little
3 min readApr 19, 2024

The reason I included the 4.0 version of Blender is because Adobe didn’t update mixamo to be compatible with Blender 4.0.

Mixamo is a program used to animate characters. Turns out, you can create animations then export them as an FBX file.

While my character design isn’t yet done, I figure getting a ‘full scope’ of all aspects involved will help me to later ‘flesh-out’ other previously visited aspects such as character design.

The first steps in going about this are pretty obvious:

There are tons of basic animations and from what my research revealed, these animations can be altered/customized.

So, here’s where things get a tad tricky for people that use the latest version of Blender.

Here’s a YT video I’m watching to this end: (9) [FIXED] Mixamo addon for Blender 4! — YouTube

It’s a community fix.

Because I had some complications with installation, be sure to compress the downloaded folder (that is, the mixamo addon fix for Blender 4.0) to a zip format.

This is just like when I installed the VRM downloader (to get my VRoid character in Blender).

This took me a bit. You may be wondering “Well, where is Mixamo then?!”

This story is only about installing the Mixamo Addon in Blender. Depending on my future needs, it may also be necessary to install it in Unity as well.

The next story will be about how to USE mixamo in Blender.

--

--

Michael Little

I'm currently pursuing my passion for game development. This is where I document education pertaining to that and software engineering. No personal Dev diaries.