Notes on Resolution

Little Orange Trees
4 min readJan 8, 2024

--

The world collectively counted down at midnight, celebrating the arrival of a new year. Glitter fell, strangers kissed, and everyone felt the inescapable pure bliss of the moment. A symphony of voices filled the room. There is a sense of common relief, almost a pause in time’s ticking clock, that the old has finally passed. Our failures no longer matter, labeled with the expiration date of the year passed. We throw out any of the feelings that we have held in, deciding it is finally time to declutter. In that moment, everyone hangs on the hope of resolution, the opportunity to make a new within themselves. Mind, Body, and Soul agree on what must change to create viable, permanent change within the infostructure of life. This is a shared experience between most of humanity; it makes complete sense why people would be drawn to this idea.

Clean slates. Starting back from zero. Three hundred and sixty-five chances (one more, if you are lucky) to break the old habits that have haunted you through the year, and the new goals you would like to implement. There is a desperation for change, with many going as far as to completely change every aspect of their life. Many gym memberships are bought, water bottles filled, books collected, classes registered, vices hidden, and meals planned, upon the thousands of other resolutions one could have. There is a sparkle in the air on New Year’s Day, where all are collectively on their paths to a better life. Then, after several days, many of those who shouted with passion and triumph at their new plans suddenly become quiet in their endeavors. Some wake up and go back to whatever place keeps them occupied in their daily life. They come to realize that the new year still holds many of the same struggles as the year prior/ their resolutions are nothing more than a fantasy created at the height of the moment. Of course, you do have the few who follow through with their word, which we all admire and secretly envy. They achieve the goals we sought after, and we watch them live within their better self from the distance of our struggle. Then, we arrive back at the end of the year and repeat this vicious cycle. We get sucked back into the perfect illusion of resolution, as we count down the seconds to midnight.

I will be the first to acknowledge my erratic relationship with New Year’s resolutions throughout my life. My week-long love affair with them has always left me with nothing more than the stresses of my habits with the added stress of trying to change them. The amount of journals that I have lying around with only the first week of the year completed is something quite admirable, especially amusing to read because of the excitement and hope within my writing. It has always ended in fluster and frustration as I’ve tried time and time again. So, for the first year of my life, I decided I would make no resolutions at the turn of the year, breaking up with this dysfunctional relationship. This ended up being a tad bit awkward when talking to others who would ask about my resolutions and seeing their face of confusion and disappointment when I gave my answer. I believe people might hang on to the support of others in their hopeful resolve because difficult journeys are easier to pursue in company. Kind of like how easy it is to plan a cruise with your friends in the group chat, creating the most beautiful itinerary, all while knowing it will never be a dream fulfilled (this one stings a bit, I still do need a cruise actually to happen). My decision to not pursue resolutions is quite simple, even if it takes time to practice, fail, pick yourself up, and try again. I decided that instead of creating resolutions I would leave to the new year, I would instead just start implementing them as soon as I saw the desire or the need to do such a thing. I figure out the areas I know I need to change and start creating micro-routines to slowly fix them. It isn’t immediate and takes time to pursue, but there is something powerful in making choices today. I believe that leaving your goals to tomorrow will seldom create the positive change that you want to see. If you decide you want something done, then just start doing it. Become accountable to yourself, acknowledge your triggers, and try. You aren’t always going to get it right the first time, but it’s something worth trying. If you decide you want to read more, start by reading a page and seeing what becomes of it. The best of my habits were all created by making instant choices, not by leaving them for later. In the very famous words of Gandhi, “Be the change you want to see in this world”. So, next year, when the clock is counting down to New Year’s, and the whole world is ready for a clean slate, maybe you’ll already be on that journey. That is the art of no resolutions, my friend.

--

--

Little Orange Trees

Andrew Marbut is a young artist residing in Alabama. Join along and read the vulnerable and unique pages of his journal, sharing everything life has taught him.