No Fluff Golf Coaching

Golf is like any other endeavour. It can be filled with idols, must-haves, jargon and impatience. My other passion is rugby and that is no different.

In this age of information we have so much at our fingertips and so much being thrown in front of us at any one time it’s hard to know where to look. It’s hard to know what to take on board and what to discard as fluff.

My own thoughts on this are clouded somewhat. I am a golf coach. I’m a golf coach using the internet to throw my message/s out there. I’m a golf coach who understands the jargon and fluff and understands why it can be attractive.

But, I’m not coaching me. My business is about you. Really. That may sound flowery and cliché but it is. If I didn’t have you = no golf coaching business.

My golfers deserve to be taught what they want to learn in a simple, and immediately implementable way. That’s not to say that in will become ingrained straight away but you can do it straight away. It’s my job to make sure your mind is not cluttered full of crap. It’s my job to interpret the fluff and make it, well, no fluff.

I’m often reminded of a passage in Daniel Coyle’s book The Talent Code.

“A coach’s true skill consists not in some universally applicable wisdom that he can communicate to all, but rather in the supple ability to locate the sweet spot on the edge of each individual student’s ability, and to send the right signals to help the student reach toward the right goal, over and over.

I’m still working on my craft and will be until the end. Eliminating fluff while taking on more fluff so that I may coach you golf without the fluff. I think.

--

--

Dan Lunn, PGA Professional. Little White Balls

Golf pro, husband, dad, obsessive rugby watcher. I write things about the great game of Golf.