Why do people use wireless keyboards with their laptop instead of the built-in keyboard?

Thomas Liu
2 min readAug 25, 2021

--

It’s really rather simple.

comfort.

key position

key spread

palm rest

probably a dozen other reasons.

Listen, I can type at 60–80 words per minute. Unless it’s a laptop, then It drops to half or a quarter of that.

If the keyboard that is included has a differing format to what I’m used to (L shaped enter/return key vs I shaped. It repositions specific keys that can be troublesome to get used to. Especially ones needed for “programming”.

I have occasional issues with my wrists on the palm-rest that causes issues with the mouse pad. (Repositioning the curser etc)

not every laptop has the numeral keypad. I don’t know about you but if I’m doing more than 3 or 4 sets of numbers, it’s faster via numeral keypad.

depending on the size of the laptop, the spread between the keys can add to errors in a touch typist’s pace.

as a general rule I prefer chicklet keys. Mechanical. I dislike the soft touch. Guess what laptops tend to generally have…? Especially smaller formfactor? Yup.

if my laptop was my primary typing computer, you can definately bet I’d be using a wireless, or even a wired external keyboard if any, or all of, the above disrupted my pace.

--

--