Is it Possible to be “In the Know” While Working From Home?

Lia, LiveBetter Coach
3 min readSep 17, 2019

--

Photo by Nick Turner on

People! Have you heard of this show called “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”? It’s supposed to be hilarious. I mean, a divorcee in the 1950s who becomes a stand-up comedian? Amazing. My mom recommended it. I’m adding it to my queue right now! I’ll let you know what I think tomorrow.

Wait. What? It’s been out for two years? It won an Emmy and a Golden Globe? It’s insanely popular? My mom is more in touch than I am? Oh. I see.

OK, OK. I admit, even though, like everyone (and their mothers) I have seen the show, that’s often how I feel — like I’m the last to know. I blame my remote work situation. I love working remotely, but I feel woefully out of touch when it comes to pop culture, memes, news stories from outlets I don’t typically follow and pretty much anything trending. Sure, being aware of pop culture does not rank high among my priorities, but it does make me feel more connected to the world and less like I’m floating out at sea alone.

The benefits of working from home are numerous, but it has put a damper on my relationship with the outside world.

The problem is I’ve created my own digital media bubble from which I don’t stray. I visit just a few news sites, follow who and what I like on Instagram, and generally rely on my husband, who works in an office, to keep me up to date on what I should be aware of on a daily basis (should we get the Mirror?). On a less frequent basis, I rely on friends (do I need a jade face roller?). And of course I rely on my mom to tell me about award-winning shows. (For the record, I have neither the Mirror nor a face roller, but no judgement towards those who do).

I’m extremely grateful that I don’t commute to work, but when I worked in an office in a city my commute sent me past newsstands, billboards and display windows, all of which helped me stay more informed about my world.

According to research at Columbia University, two-thirds of our work communication is with co-workers. While some of that communication is about work, some of it is good, old-fashioned water cooler chat. People who work remotely like myself miss out on that water cooler chat. For some people that may be wonderfully liberating, while for others it can feel like they’re missing out on important relationship building — both with colleagues and their community.

So, how can people who work remotely improve their relationship with the outside world? One way is fairly obvious. Make a point to get together with real live people throughout the week, or even once a month. Set up coffee and lunch dates with friends and neighbors. Ask what they’re watching, reading, listening to these days. Come prepared to offer up what you’ve been into lately, too. (“Hey, I’ve discovered this little known show called ‘Game of Thrones.’”)

Another way to boost your relationship with the world around is to join The Better Breakroom. During our 15-minute live sessions, the conversations sometimes veer from well-being tips for people working remotely to recommendations for the latest Netflix show, podcast or viral video. It’s like a water cooler chat for our digital nomad community, except you provide your own water.

Subscribe to LiveBetter’s YouTube page to join us every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday at 1PM ET to see what I’m talking about.

And if there’s a piece of pop culture you’re loving right now, share it in the comments. Let’s help our fellow remote employees climb out from under our collective rock.

’Til next time, LiveBetter! 🙌

--

--

Lia, LiveBetter Coach

LiveBetter helps people boost their everyday well-being. Our digital coach Lia will guide you to take small actions that, over time, can lead to big changes.