Live to Eat Local

LiveToBeSocial
4 min readNov 27, 2017

--

Follow @livetoeatlocal on Twitter, Instagram & Facebook

Restaurants, cafes, gastro-pubs, bakeries, street food, markets, food festivals, local food producers, nutrition, organic produce, breweries, bars, wine, cocktails, baking, recipes, home cooking, kids food, eating out with kids…

…and any other great food and drink finds in North Hertfordshire, South Cambridgeshire and Cambridge.

All found and consumed in North Herts and South Cambs!

Live to Eat Local is what is says on the tin! I love food and drink — reading about it, making it, learning how other people make it, growing it and best of all eating and drinking it.

Where is Local?

A great mix of urban areas and countryside

Three years ago we moved from London to Royston, on the border of North Herts and South Cambs, giving us easy access to loads of places making and producing amazing food and drink. There are fantastic food finds in the beautiful villages and countryside on our doorstep plus the local towns of Hitchin, Letchworth, Baldock and Royston and of course, the vibrant city of Cambridge, have all sorts of great foodie things going on. We’re also often tempted out to Essex, which is on our doorstep too.

We have a great combination of rural and urban which means lots and lots of food and drink!

Who is Live To Eat Local?

I am an ex Marketing Manager, ex Londoner, mum of a 6 year old girl and 3 year old boy and very much a food and drink lover. I have always been interested in food and drink… everything from burgers to organic kim chi (is there such a thing as organic kim chi? Can I afford it? Probably not). I used to think I didn’t have hobbies until I realised they were cooking and eating out, they didn’t feel like hobbies, just a fundamental part of life.

Things I like….

  • Delicious food.. I’m a sane human being!
  • Nutrition and good quality produce.. I’m a mum and keeping me and my family alive and well is kind of important to me!
  • Cooking & looking at recipes.. I do love cooking but sometimes I spend more time looking at recipes than actually cooking.
  • Wine…Gin…lovely cocktails…I’m a mum (and a sane human being.)
  • Eating out.. great atmospheres and someone else doing the work and hopefully a better job
How I look at wine

Why Live to Eat Local?

When we moved here I knew there had to be lots of food and drink to discover but wasn’t quite sure how to go about finding it. I always had the feeling there were eating opportunities out there that were being missed!

Live to Eat Local wants to showcase these amazing places, products and people so that you can find out about them all in one place.

I’d love to hear from you too. Tag @livetoeatlocal to tell me about any local food and drink experiences you’d like to share.

--

--

LiveToBeSocial

Social Media & Marketing Consultant * Food & Drink Lover 🍽️ * Cambridgeshire & Hertfordshire