Mensa Scholarship Essay for 2022

Olivia
4 min readMar 19, 2022

--

We live in a complex and shifting ecosystem. It’s a given fact of life. I personally believe that if it weren’t for the people and the environments around me, I would never have gotten to be the academic I am today. Learning lessons over the span of 25 years has certainly made me more aware of the fact that I want to pursue something that serves others. Something, to speak more concretely, like healthcare.

My life has delineated a swiftly evolving series of lessons. Lessons learned from others which has included the following and then some: overcoming obstacles, growing stronger from adversity, and accepting negative feedback to become attuned, enlightened, driven, and successful.

We can’t possibly do everything correctly the first time: it’s not possible. But what we learn from observing others in our natural environment is more than picking yourself up and trying again, if only not to fail once more. Think about it: what we learn in a natural setting by observing others behavior as a means to impact our own for the better is in fact the hallmark of the scientific method. So to add to this experiment of an essay, we would thus need a hypothesis, a set observations, the results, and a conclusion and analysis.

Hypothesis: As I become credentialed in a health services field, quite possibly Phlebotomy Technician, EKG technician, or Certified Nurse’s Aid this time around, I will strengthen my core values and understanding of ethical treatment in an academic, clinical, and then a hospital setting.

Observation: I have already made significant adjustments to my approach to phlebotomy and nursing based on the facts I have acquired in order to certify, and these changes will help make it possible for me to educate others on the same topics, if applicable in my future in healthcare.

For one thing, I have expanded my blog to include healthcare, and the psychology of nursing. Writing about the hard topics really allows my work to shine, which enables me to think more clearly about the tasks at hand in the workplace, namely the healthcare and healthcare administration industry. Based on observation, if I continue gaining traction by bookkeeping as I did throughout my undergraduate years and before, I could become a significant researcher one day, helping further a global understanding of disease prevention and emergent methodologies. I am noticing that I would do well to use my talents to teach others that their certifications are achievable too, not only that, they are waiting to be fulfilled.

I’ve observed something else as well: our failures most often lead to our successes which become not only our credentials but our biggest assets that we carry with us on the job. With every class I took at high school, college(s), and any extra lectures and performances, I become just that much more well-adjusted to a designated career role. We absorb information by being open to it: and by open, I simply mean *placed in the same environment*.

And thus, with every job I have tried in healthcare administration, I have become more interested in joining the practice.

It fits then, if each experience leads me to become more of a health services professional, that being a licensed medical technician of one of the above specified kinds, EKG, Phlebotomy and/or CNA, will teach me the most important thing in the process of acquiring new information and gaining equanimity in the face of health crises and epidemiological constraints in the future: it will teach me how to best incorporate the mindset of a scientist and the heart of a healer.

Every medical practice needs one of these people who cares a great deal about the work that they do, beyond the numbers, and at the end of the day as well as the everyday workweek. For me, it has never been about numbers or payroll. I’ve always thought of myself as an anomaly: I don’t fit many molds which is why I never called myself an aspiring health professional. I simply didn’t believe it was likely. However, sometimes, what is not likely ends up being Possible. A distinction which leads me to my next section of the experiment.

Results: The result of my osmosis of trial and error leads me to believe that a mindful approach to science and health services, is actually the biggest success I could dream up. The rationality behind ethical and effective care, is the highest form of art that I can imagine.

The communities that make up this practice of healthcare and medicine, all carry such an undeniable force of life: the life of the world we live in. What would we be doing without appreciating the simple fact that we all share one planet, without which we would never have even existed in the first place? I truly can’t imagine anything more profound: the observations I have made, have helped breathe life into life itself: the condition of the world, a vow of admiration which takes place always in sickness and in health. So the result for me is inspiration, and additionally, a greater focus superimposed on the work I have done and have yet to do.

Conclusion/Analysis: Part of writing this application essay has made me become more aware of the opportunities down the road that lies before me. The opportunities for learning are everywhere. It’s really time to look through the microscope, and never once be anxious or afraid, to see something illustrious, provocative and quite profound: the human condition itself, learning to expand and become new all throughout the acquisition of more experience and knowledge. If I can manifest this, it might be possible that one day, I can properly help enable others around me to do the same, starting in my community, and then later, in theirs.

--

--

Olivia

Let’s chat about our work together in the Medium today