Becoming a Swift Developer (Week 3)

Liyicky
2 min readFeb 13, 2022

--

Week 3

Week 3 of my swift adventure. This week was harder and I only finished one app in the tutorial. I built a chat app using Firebase for the backend. As a RoR guy, using firebase was a real joy. Even though I’ve done it dozens of times, setting up users and authenticating them in rails is always a trip to the dentist. Using firebase, what would take an hour took seconds. And that was my first time setting it up too.

I had a lot more fun coding this week, but i’m still only following the tutorial. So nothing much to say except my toes are officially wet. Swift is a nice language and I like writing a bunch of structs and optionals.

Work hard play hard?

On the weekend I watched a lot of TV and I played some Pokemon legends Arceus. Unfortunately Pokemon mastery doesn’t pay well so I wanna try to cut back to 5 hours of TV time this week. Is that even cosmically possible?

What I did

This is the “Messenger” app I built this week. I learned a lot bout xibs, casting to type, firebase and networking stuff, multiple views, cocoapods and SPM, and stuff.

I logged in
I tried to record myself typing this code in 1 take like i’m Linus Torvalds or something.

Goals

Once again please check out the Udemy course on Swift by Dr. Angela Yu. Next weekend it would be super dope to cut my TV time by 50% and use that to get a few extra hours in. Also, swift UI. Stay tuned.

--

--

Liyicky

Hey, I’m Jason Cheladyn. Going back to the coding world after 6 years of teaching English in Japan. https://www.twitter.com/liyicky https://www.liyicky.com