My Favorite Setting

Drawing Visual Metaphors

Liza Donnelly

--

Each individual cartoonist has their preferred things to draw. Some call them “tropes,” “devices,” “visual metaphors,” “cliches.” Frankly, none of those words fit what I’m talking about. I grew up an avid follower of Charles Schulz’s strip Peanuts, and he had a few visual settings he would use repeatedly. Snoopy’s dog house, Charlie Brown and the football, Lucy’s Psychiatric Help stand, there are many. I loved the way he combined humor, politics and philosphy in his drawings. It heavily influenced my work; I was drawing at an early age as I read his…

--

--

Liza Donnelly

Visual journalist/writer for New Yorker, New York Times, WaPo. TED, SXSW speaker. Looking to change world w humor. newsletter:https://lizadonnelly.substack.com