Flight Vouchers: Here’s how to get an extension

I got a 365-day extension on my flight voucher and you can, too.

Liz Barrett Foster
4 min readApr 23, 2020
Girl looking at airline flight board. May need flight voucher if flight is cancelled.
Image by Jan Vašek from Pixabay

If you do any amount of traveling, you probably have a flight voucher, travel voucher, or airline voucher from a trip that was cancelled or delayed by the airline.

And, if you don’t have a voucher yet, you may soon, as airlines continue to cancel more flights and routes every day. In fact, American Airlines just announced that it’s going to stop servicing some of the airports in New York, Iowa, and Ohio, due to a pilot shortage, according to Today.

Whatever the reason you have a voucher lying around, don’t let it expire.

In my case, my husband and I had two vouchers each. One paper voucher as a thank you for taking a later flight and an e-voucher for a canceled flight.

One voucher was due to expire at the end of May and the other at the end of June.

At first, we figured we’d probably just have to forfeit the vouchers and chalk it up to the airlines winning again.

Then I started thinking of all of the other people with vouchers. I knew there was no way everyone was forfeiting their vouchers.

So, I did a bit of Google research and found that people were having success contacting…

--

--

Liz Barrett Foster

Born in Michigan, raised in California, settled in Mississippi. Corporate content writer and B2B journalist in food niche. Find more at lizbarrettfoster.com.