A Client Writes About Her First IFS Session

Lizbeth @ Multiple Mind
2 min readMay 15, 2023

--

This was my first experience of IFS. I had somewhat of an idea of what would happen. Lizbeth led me tenderly and compassionately with a series of unthreatening questions through logical explorations of different aspects of myself. She validated those parts even if they had made choices which I believed did not serve me. She helped me see that those parts of myself had good intentions and wanted the best for me. I was encouraged to affirm this acknowledgment and gratitude… to acknowledge and be grateful for myself to myself, even though I had done things I was not proud of. This was very different from the self-judgement I was so used to hearing. I went at whatever pace I felt comfortable with.

The most astonishing thing was perhaps not what happened in the session, but after it. Things began to move. Issues that I have repeatedly worked on for years, and so much wanted to let go of, no longer seemed to be holding me back. I found myself making choices that served ME that I previously would not have made. I was able to stand up for myself unapologetically, without anger, resentment, or fear. These differences felt so subtle, yet so profound. They were life-changing. My relationship with my young adult son has changed and is still changing, because something deep inside me has changed.

I am deeply grateful to Lizbeth for her presence and calm capacity to lead me to some previously inaccessible level of acceptance, understanding, and compassion… towards myself. That was just one session!!

I would highly encourage anyone who is seeking the sweet relief of releasing deep trauma to give themselves this incredible opportunity to be expertly guided through what I can only call a magical healing experience. Lizbeth, I cannot thank you enough.

--

--

Lizbeth @ Multiple Mind

Certified Internal Family Systems practitioner, educator, conflict mediator, laughter-yoga leader. I blog about the multiple mind, applying IFS therapy to life.