Chapter 1: Maracaibo, Venezuela

Liz Parra
5 min readAug 19, 2018

Maracaibo is a hostile city. The weather may punish your skin, mind and soul; the heat literally attacks and burns! In Maracaibo you can be amazed by the overlook of a beautiful lake but also downhearted by the presence of depressed areas, as it occurs in any city. This mentioned lake, can stun you with spectacular blue tones that merge with the sky, or terrify you when it becomes monochromatic. As the sun is usually intense, because the sun definitely loves Maracaibo, the colors are deeply appreciated and the areas of light and shadow are pronounced.

Maracaibo smells like fried food and unbelievably it is an attractive smell, except for some exceptions. It also smells like sun!

I was born in Maracaibo, at the Paradise Clinic (the old one). Since I was little my parents showed me the house where I lived the first year of life. It is located in Cold Valley, Saint Lucia parish, in a curved corner demarcated by small poles that promise to provide protection to the structure in case of a road accident. After a year, my family would move to an apartment near that house. My new home would be the The Hills building, with a beautiful and pleasant view of the lake, and neighbors who would later be beloved. In that building I lived 13 years in apartment 4A. My godmother lived in apartment 7A and it was very fun to visit her. I remember that she used to prepare fish soup because it was nutritious but she added chicken bouillon cubes because she did not like the fishy flavor. I also remember Saturdays in her apartment playing card games to…

--

--

Liz Parra

Escritora creativa por observación y necesidad; escribo o enloquezco / Creative writer inspired by observation and thirst; writing to avoid loosing my mind.