I Can’t Believe Its Over!

Elizabeth Duesenberg
Thoughts…On the Super Semester
4 min readDec 8, 2015
Me on my first day of producing, I was a little stressed!

Producer Problems

My first time being a producer fell on a very eventful day. The Mizzou protests were making national headlines and Lindenwood had to get in on the action. This turned out to be great coverage for the reporters that went, but it was a nightmare for me as a producer. I had no idea what kind of content was going to be in the show until about an hour until showtime. We also wanted to try a live shot, so setting that up in the rundown and in the control room was difficult. It was an extremely stressful day but I was able to get a true taste as to what it would be like to be a real producer on an actual newscast. After the third time of producing, I felt like I had gotten a grip as to what a producer’s job entails but it also was a slow newsday. I came out of my time as a producer understanding the rundown of a show much better. I could possibly start off in the news world as a producer, but I learned from my experience that I enjoy more in front of the camera work.

Back On The Anchor Desk

Kristine and I back on the desk!

After doing sports, weather, and producing, I finally made my way back to the anchor desk. After experiencing all the positions, I have loved the anchor desk the most. I was lucky to sit next to Kristine for the last few shifts and I thought we were able to master the casual banter between anchors. We were confident and I thought we had great reads on most of the stories. By far my most memorable experience on the anchor desk was the last newscast that we did. Kristine and I are both graduating and we wanted to give recognition to all the other December graduates. We had just recently recieved Lindenwood Alumni t-shirts, so we were able to have a special send off near the end of the show. It was such a bittersweet moment. I did not want the end of Super Semester to come but I am so excited to see where my experience will take me.

Family Ties

From left to right: me, Caitlyn, and Kristine with our decked out graduation caps

I know I have said it multiple times before, but the members of Super Semester have become such a strong family structure. Any worries that I had about not having the same dynamic after graduation was quickly negated on graduation day. I was fortunate enough to sit next to Kristine and Caitlyn. Being able to talk comfortably with everyone around me was such a huge comfort. Taking a picture with the LUTV crew after graduation was also a mini celebration. I can not think of any other tight knit community in universities where students go to the same classes every day, depend on one another, and develop such special bonds. Coming into the fall semester, I was dreading what lay ahead. I had heard horror stories of how difficult Super Semester was and how much of your life was going to have to be sacrificed in order to complete the assigments. Looking back on the semester, it has been the best time of my college career. While it took some getting used to, I was able to experience so many new adventures that I would never have dreamed of doing in any other class. The knowledge I gained was all application toward what I may someday do in the real world. The hands on experience will stick with me much longer than anything I read out of book. I wish more semesters were shaped like Super Semester.

Future Endevors

As of right now, I have no idea as to what life has in store for me. I am excited to start my career and apply my degree. I am beyond sad to be leaving Lindenwood and all of my friends. However, thanks to Super Semester my friendship with Kristine has become so much stronger and I know I will always have her as someone I can turn to and vent about my frustrations with the news world and share my exciting stories. I wish we could stay on the anchor desk of LUTV forever but time marches on. For now, I am going to enjoy my twenties, enjoy the ride of the professional world, and hopefully be able to experience new relationships that my news career will bring me.

Newscast:

In response to the Mizzou protests, Lindenwood’s Black Student Union gathered to show their support. This piece ran when I was producing and it was easy to write a tease for because the topic was so important to many. This incident proved to me how exciting the news world can be when major stories happen.

--

--

Elizabeth Duesenberg
Thoughts…On the Super Semester

Lindenwood University senior, Mass Comm major, aspire to be the new Giuliana Rancic