The Subject: Mathematics

Ley Leyson
2 min readDec 20, 2021

--

Mathematics can be a subject that some people might find difficult. It is often perceived as the scariest subject in school. According to Quora, 40% of the people on the Internet hated mathematics. Mathematics can be difficult and complicated. That is why the teacher that teaches the subject plays a big role in everyone’s understanding of mathematics. It is the Mathematics teacher’s job to make everyone’s experience in learning mathematics fun and memorable. Therefore, it is the mathematics teacher’s responsibility for his/her students’ experience and understanding of the subject.

As a future teacher of mathematics, I have already accepted that this is the responsibility that I should be ready for. This is the responsibility that I should live with. That is why I am trying my best to learn and do well in this course. I am blessed that I am one of the people who actually does not hate mathematics and does not find it that hard. I am so grateful that I am able to understand and enjoy it as well. As a student, I personally know that the mathematics teacher has a big contribution to my understanding and perspective of the subject and I am so grateful to have good mathematics teachers in elementary and high school because they have taught me so much and I was able to grow and love mathematics. With this gift and knowledge, I would like to share them with the next generations. I know what it feels to be afraid of something because of the experience they have with it and sometimes, it could be an experience with the subject, mathematics.

As my contribution to the field of mathematics, I would study the different methods and strategies in teaching so that I will be able to teach students mathematics properly. I would make them understand mathematics and make them realize that mathematics is not that difficult and that it is fun. I would lengthen my patience for those who are slow in mathematics. I will make learning mathematics a fun experience for my students so that they won’t be afraid of conquering every mathematical problem they will encounter. Because I know that based on experience, you are able to learn and understand mathematics, when you are taught well by a good teacher and that is how I am going to contribute to the world of mathematics.

--

--