Average Guy Weight Loss Program: If I Can Do This, Anyone Can (Part 1)

Lloyd Bowling
4 min readMay 30, 2019

--

January 1 through May 9th 2019 (kilograms)

Last December 31st I was preparing yet another New Year’s commitment to remove spare kilos. This time though, the plan was to achieve a target and keep the newfound benefit. We’re talking long term here.

So it commenced, a concentrated, though not totally dedicated assault on excess body fat. The sad state of affairs on January 1st was 86 kilograms, or 190 pounds on the American scale. I set a target of 79.9 kilograms (176 lbs.), with an achievement date of June 30. That’s 6 kilograms over 6 months, 1 kilogram per month. Sounds easy-peasy doesn’t it?

No friends, this mission was not going to be easy. I was determined to do it with minimal disruption to work and social life. The grand plan: to reduce fat intake without joining a monastic order. I’m an average guy, and I need to live, OK? I wanted to work through a program of diet and fitness, pocket the gains, and still enjoy some excesses along the way. It was clear that I could not exist on fruits, nuts and vegetables while partaking in Chinese New Year, holidays in Greece, etc. This meant pursuing a truly balanced plan. There were times when execution was above plan, but there was also times when it was well below expectation.

At times I fasted intermittently and other times when I ate steak, accompanied by wine or beer. I mostly practiced a steady fitness regime, but there were instances when I didn’t do much exercise for a week at a time.

The Average Guy / Girl Program

Photo by ryan park on Unsplash

Who’s an average guy? That would be me, and my lifestyle can include luscious meals accompanied buy wine or lager. But make no mistake friends. This gig does require some discipline. Sweets have to be greatly reduced, if not eliminated altogether. Carbs are allowed but not in large quantities.

Physical exertion is an absolute must, and had to be done on a consistent basis. A typical week looked like this:

  • Monday: 50-60 minutes of combination cardio / resistance training
  • Tuesday: 30–40 minutes cardio
  • Wednesday: 2 hours of Tennis (singles or doubles)
  • Thursday: 50 -60 minutes of combination cardio / resistance training
  • Friday: Rest
  • Saturday: 45 minute walk
  • Sunday: 2 hours of Tennis

This program has required discipline, but it has also allowed enjoyable moments. That’s what we want isn’t it? To achieve a high standard of fitness without sacrificing everything we enjoy. Can it be done? We shall see!

Meal Plan: It’s All About Balance

photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

As a practice, I averaged 2.5 meals per day. I gave away the traditional 3 square meals long ago. Now days typically consist of light breakfast, a full and unfettered lunch, with a very light dinner. The light dinner is a cornerstone of the program, with no meat and very limited carbs. However, the Average Guy Plan has allowances for occasional dietic indiscretions. Client dinners did not stop, nor did visits from friends and holiday trips.

I do have a history of sometimes achieving fairly good fitness levels. I’ve been to the mountaintop and I have seen the promised land. This time I want to re-climb that peak and have an extended stay.

So there it is. I commenced with the plan, made it through Western New Year, Chinese New Year, along with several client dinners. Dinners out were always scheduled well in advance. In anticipation I would fast intermittently in the lead up. This helped to minimise negative effects, so the post-gorge damage was minimal.

Progress To-Date

  • January 1st: Lloyd was 86.2 kilograms / 189.6 pounds
  • May 9: 81.2 kilograms / 178.6 pounds
  • Net loss: 5.0 kilograms / 11 pounds

1st Big Test: Greece

No offence intended to the very cool Greeks, but… after May 9th (81.2 kg), Athens and Mykonos could put it all to naught. Should I spend my 10-day holiday eating dry salad, without the world’s best olive oil? Should I forgo souvlaki and gyros, while also thumbing my nose at Santorini Red? You can make a guess, but the very essence of Average Guy gives you the answer.

Will Average Guy put it all back on, with four months wasted, just so he can enjoy a holiday? This cliff-hanger will have to wait until Average Guy returns from Greece. Be on the look-out for Part 2. See if I am able to progress, or if I have failed miserably. I promise an updated weight table in Part 2. Let the drum roll begin.

--

--

Lloyd Bowling

Citizen of the world, based in South Asia. Reads, writes, runs and plays a lot of Tennis.