GymnasticBodies

Lloyd Sparks
4 min readOct 18, 2018
Photo from www.gymnasticbodies.com

GymnasticBodies at One Year

May 6, 2017

I’ve been doing Gymnastic Bodies (www.gymnasticbodies.com) for a year now and it’s time for an assessment. The comprehensive GB program has three weekly stretching protocols (front splits, middle splits, and thoracic bridge), a graduated, systematic conditioning program that addresses core, leg and upper body mobility, and a program for handstands and for tumbling. In addition, there is a program for nutrition. I have been doing the three stretching series and conditioning, opting not to get into handstand, tumbling or nutrition just yet.

What I like

I made some measurable progress over the first 4–6 months in flexibility, which has tapered off for both the split series. The thoracic bridge series was showing good progress as well until my shoulder became too sore to continue without modification. I’ve finally found in GB a protocol that persuasively advises on what stretches to do, how long to hold them, and how often to do them. The conditioning protocols are systematic and graduated.

What I don’t like

I’ve had to severely limit the thoracic bridge series due to a right shoulder strain injury of gradual onset. Although I was very careful not to push the stretches into pain, I think it is likely that the injury was made worse, if not caused by, the…

--

--

Lloyd Sparks

I write to connect interesting people with interesting ideas.