Negotiate with Belphegor

C. Dionne
2 min readDec 18, 2023

--

Belphegor, the name of the demon representing the sin of sloth in Christian mysticism

Yesterday was study report day and I thought I wasted too much time.

No, no my grades weren’t bad and I thought I could make my classmates jealous, but above the sky, there is still a heaven, there are other classmates who get better and satisfying grades, I just suddenly got a thought, all this time I’ve never really been diligent or determined in studying, if not being serious can be like this then what if I become so serious?

Sloth is something bad, and stupidly I only realized this at the end of my school days, when the real world arrived right in front of my nose with all this vanity will I get good? That’s why I’m sincerely writing this, hoping that in the future when I waste my precious time again I might get slapped.

You’re holding back your time to metamorphose while others change for the better

This battle with the devil of the heart never ends, sometimes when I want to start something I think is useful or new, suddenly the word “later” will be uttered. That’s fine if I’m going to do it, but it’s different if I just pile up this word “later” every day. I started thinking about the true power of just sitting down and taking your work seriously, many times better than sitting down to be a moron.

I’ve been thinking in such a way, Is the time I’m spending being put to good use, and if not why should I do it? It’s this bad habit that I’m conflicted about as if I’m stopping my own time while the universe keeps expanding, and in the end, all I get is a delay.

I tried to negotiate with the Belphegor within me, I wanted him not to say the word “Later” through my lips, and to hold it until what I was doing was finished. Tried to hold him back like about how others had already reached the moon and I was just crawling on the earth. I wanted to ignore my Belphegor by saying that “I’m busy right now.”

Don’t be a fool and believe in the saying that it’s better late than never, it’s more appropriate to neither be late nor put it off. There is nothing to be proud of in procrastination. Sooner or later there must be at least something useful to leave behind. Therefore, I hope you don’t become like me, dear my future.

I can do it, but the question is whether I want to do it, If I answer no I will say “Later, Belphegor”.

--

--

C. Dionne
0 Followers

I'm just happy to pour out what I think.