A Film-Lovers Ranking of Film in 2017

Local Boy | Hugo Perez
5 min readJan 2, 2018

--

So how do you go into a movie watching experience?

As a film-maker — for clients and for passion, I always go in with an expectation of full escape. I go in wanting to live in someone else’s shoes, to be inspired, amazed, engaged, enlightened. I look forward to being transported and to experiencing a slice of another life, another point of view. And nothing makes that experience more visceral than being in a dark theater with a large screen, where total immersion is possible.

I try to watch one movie per week… and if they are good, or if I’m really fanboying, it could be like 2 or 3, maybe 4 times in a week. I love the storytelling the most, which enables me to enjoy a wide-range of genres. A good story is a good story is a good story. Craft a good story and watch the audience fall in love. For me, among all the story styles being used in film today, I am definitely drawn to the superhero variety, followed closely by sci-fi. Weepy dramas have a particular soft-spot in my movie-lover heart too.

Here’s how I ranked my 2017 movie watching experience. (Note: This list is based on the movies I watched on the big screen in 2017, most of which were released in the same year. And they are my choices for favorite films, not necessarily critics choices or award contenders… except in my own personal Newzdude’s Academy Awards).

What are your Top 5?

1. LaLa Land: I caught this amazing gem at the beginning of January… and couldn’t stop watching it (or singing along… or dancing… or smiling.) Saw it 4xs during its theatrical release and was mesmerized each time by the amazing dance numbers, the catchy-tunes, and the marvelous romance brought to life by Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone. A year later and I don’t think a week goes by without me playing the soundtrack at least once a week. Pure and total escapism. The opening sequence will never grow old for me. This is definitely one of those movies that I will stop and watch whenever I come across it again.

2. Dunkirk: I expected this movie to be impactful… and it was. Riveting. Heart-wrenching. Moving. Powerful. And visually stunning. I was at the edge of my seat throughout… and compelled to never look away with that entrancing soundtrack.

3. Wonder Woman: Although I love the super-hero genre, my ongoing complaint is a lack of planning for the third act of just about all of them. They often run out of steam. Wonder Woman had the same struggle, but it’s first two acts were so amazingly brought to life, that it diminished any disappointment for the closing. Themyscira, in particular, was brought to life with such amazing care for quality, that it almost felt as it archival footage had been used instead of complete make-belief. #GirlPower

4. War for the Planet of the Apes: This series just keep getting better and better. Talk about being transported. A good story will always make a film memorable. And this saga continues to deliver an emotional, compelling storyline that is worth engaging with.

5. Spider-Man: Homecoming: Fan-boy levels went through the roof. Most definitely my favorite incarnation of the Web-Slinger. What made it special was the true charm and wit that came through… the amazement, the comic book fun, the way they treated the characters with respect, but definitely allowed them to be fun.

6. Logan: Gritty, dark, realistic… the super-powers were just treated as fact. Nothing overly fantastical about them, which made the characters even more engaging. A superhero Western. Loved it.

7. American Assassin: Dylan O’Brien is quickly becoming a favorite actor. The emotion he brings to life in his characters is palpable. I felt his pain, his anger, his passion.

8. Star Wars: The Last Jedi: I am forever a Star Wars junkie. Saw this fun flick 4xs in the first 7-days of release. I don’t care what the critics say… I found this flick to be a sci-fi lovers dream and a Star Wars geek’s delight. I choose to believe in the overarching storytelling arc that will bring all the episodes together. Because of that, I am okay with some confusion, and some misdirect. It’s all about suspending belief and allowing yourself to be immersed.

9. Thor: Ragnarok: Thor is funny. And it works. A great approach towards refreshing how this character is portrayed. So cool.

10. 13 Minutes: These little-known historical stories always grab me. Little watched movie but with lots to tell.

11. American Made

12. Lady Bird

13. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

14 .Call Me by Your Name

15. Hidden Figures

16. Captain Fantastic

17. The Founder

18. The Zookeeper’s Wife

19. Rebel in the Rye

20. Arrival

21. Moonlight

22. John Wick: Chapter Two

23. King Arthur: Legend of the Sword

24. The Fate of the Furious

25. Passengers

26. Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk

27. The Book of Henry

28. Alien: Covenant

29. All Eyez on Me

30. Baby Driver

31. Split

32. The Hitman’s Bodyguard

33. Kingsman: The Golden Circle

34. Live By Night

35. Unforgettable

36. Life

37. Gifted

38. Daddy’s Home 2

39. Rough Night

40. Girls Trip

41. A Bad Moms Christmas

42. Pitch Perfect 3

43. Justice League

44. xXx: The Return of Xander Cage

45. Transformers: The Last Knight

46. CHIPS

47. Baywatch

48. Kong: Skull Island

49. The Mummy

50. Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets

--

--

Local Boy | Hugo Perez

A good story cut’s through the noise. I help you find the white space to tell your story. Let’s get to your happily ever after. www.localboycreative.com