The Triune honoring #3

The Soul Salon
3 min readApr 8, 2024
Photo by Adrian Curiel on Unsplash

On January 2, 2023, Buffalo Bills safety Damar Hamlin collapsed on the field and had to be resuscitated. He had made a tackle like he had hundreds of times before, but this time, it ended in cardiac arrest.

I dove deep into prayer. I prayed every single day for him, his family, his team, and his attending medical staff. I’ll never know why this particular tragic situation had such a monumental effect on me. This event had somehow made it into my DNA. I was changed from the inside out.

The NFL organization’s handling of the situation was beautiful. It was clear that they were focused on the human beings affected by this tragic situation above everything else. Rather than postponing the game, they canceled it. This was a bold yet compassionate move. Also, watching the heartfelt concern Hamlin’s teammates had for him was an amazing display of how deeply connected they are to one another. As a result, I am a Bills fan for life!

Hamlin was a 6th-round pick (212th). The odds of making it to the NFL are slim compared to all those pining for the opportunity. He’s obviously an amazing player to make it that far. But, if we only focus on players drafted, his stats (thus far, I mean, he is so young) don’t qualify him as a football hero.

God has used this man for something way bigger than football…

--

--

The Soul Salon

Using my personal journey of self discovery and enjoying my human experience to inspire you to do the same