Missus AA
3 min readOct 2, 2016

Game of Thrones

After blatantly refusing to watch the latest Netflix shows/tv series my colleagues were into I managed to find myself trying out the ever-so-popular ‘Game of Thrones’. My main reason of boycotting these series was because everybody was watching it, and they did not seem to be fascinating enough to render my time. I always like to watch things that have meaning and will bless my soul in any way. This was why I was very skeptical about what the majority of people were watching. The last thing I wanted was to fill my mind with emptiness.

Who is sitting on your throne ?

Countless lunch time conversations were based on what happened in the last episode of ‘Empire’ or ‘How to get away with murder’ and countless other shows.. This was the part where I usually kept quite as I listened to excited voices discussing the plot, while some covered their ears half in annoyance as they were an episode or two behind. I grew to know a fair bit about these shows but nether-the-less none of them grabbed my attention. During a recent lunchtime conversation I was recommended the ‘Game of Thrones’, with a pre-warning of the explicit and graphic content of sex and violence. After being sick of all the ‘hype’ around it I took the challenge to watch it.

I managed to see the whole of season one of the ‘Game of Thrones’ in one week. It is about different kingdoms fighting to seat on the ‘Thrown’. Loyalty is both valued and cast aside, love is in the body of woman and in the heart of man, heartlessness is like a plague that finds the heads of victims hanging on spikes, pride comes before the fall, and the fall of a kingdom brings about the power of another.

As I watched I began to ask myself who I was loyal to. I could only think of God and my family. For me, to have loyalty to God means to believe in Jesus, pick up our own personal crosses and follow Him. We must be willing to go through the fire for our faith. People follow what they believe in, and it’s the same in our walk with Christ. I know that it is easier said than done, that’s why we come to His thrown of Grace in prayer. No matter what, may God give us the strength to follow Him always.

Hebrews 4:16 ‘Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.’

This world has nothing to offer us as believers in Christ Jesus. Everything is vanity upon vanity. Nothing can really satisfy your soul apart from the presence of God. As life gets tough and frustrating, why not put your trust in the Lord, knowing that your home is not of this world. The god of this world offers temporary pleasure, empty promises of happiness which never lasts and a fake identification.

In this world many gods are fighting for our ‘loyalty’. The lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life (1 John 2:15–16)

‘Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. For all that is in the world — the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life — is not of the Father but is of the world. And the world is passing away, and the lust of it; but he who does the will of God abides forever.’

As we do the will of God let’s remember what James 5:7–8 says:

‘Therefore be patient, brethren, until the coming of the Lord. See how the farmer waits for the precious fruit of the earth, waiting patiently for it until it receives the early and latter rain. You also be patient. Establish your hearts, for the coming of the Lord is at hand.’

While we wait for that trumpet to sound, my prayer is that we have all pledged our allegiance to the True King Jesus Christ. I don’t know about you but as for me and my household, we shall serve the Lord.

Yours with Love,

Missus AA