Antiheroes: An Instagram Project by Susana Blasco

Spanish visual artist Susana Blasco’s “Antiheroes” combines vintage photographs with everyday objects to create funny and bizarre portraits.

Lomography
3 min readMay 20, 2016

“Antiheroes” is a project by Susana Blasco that combines vintage photographs with everyday objects to create funny and bizarre portraits, which the artist shares on her Instagram account.

Asked how the project came to be, Blasco explains, “One day, I was eating nuts and one of them fell onto a picture of a soldier. I was amused by the result, so I uploaded the picture to Instagram and started playing around with different objects.”

That was in 2012, and the project (as well as Blasco’s follower base) has been growing ever since. “Antiheroes” is not the artist’s only project that uses old images: “I’m really into vintage photographs and found objects. I accumulate thousands of them and I really like working with this kind of paper as a raw material and with these kinds of forgotten memories as a concept. This obsession is connected to my personal interest in memory, oblivion, family, time.”

That was in 2012, and the project (as well as Blasco’s follower base) has been growing ever since. “Antiheroes” is not the artist’s only project that uses old images: “I’m really into vintage photographs and found objects. I accumulate thousands of them and I really like working with this kind of paper as a raw material and with these kinds of forgotten memories as a concept. This obsession is connected to my personal interest in memory, oblivion, family, time.”

When Blasco creates a new portrait, the process is like a game to her. It happens spontaneously. She then takes a photo of it with her iPhone and uploads it to Instagram using the Earlybird filter. “Obviously, I don’t work in the same way with all my projects, but in this case seems perfect. To me, Instagram is a constant source of inspiration,” the artist says. “Regarding my own photographs, what I value most apart from the instant feedback is the ability to work with an iPhone and a limited set of tools. This simplifies technical decisions when you take the picture and yet provides excellent results.”

If you want to see more if Susana Blasco’s work, visit her website or check out herInstagram profile. Prints of her portraits are also available via her Etsy store.

All images by Susana Blasco and used with permission.

This article was written by Teresa Sutter. Originally published on www.lomography.com.

--

--

Lomography

The largest analogue photography community, site and store in the world!