Students React to the USC Campus Climate Survey Results

Kate
3 min readSep 22, 2015

--

Contributors: John Marcus

The Association of American Universities (AAU) released the results of their Campus Climate Survey. The survey asked students at participating universities several questions on their experiences with sexual assault. USC, one of the 27 U.S. participating universities joined the AAU to improve “programs and services to combat sexual misconduct and assault.”

The USC Campus Climate results:

  • 8,052 of 41, 594 students responded to the survey for a 19.4% response rate
  • 14.5% of female undergraduates reported to experiencing nonconsensual penetration during their time at USC; 23% of female undergraduates reported to experiencing nonconsensual touching
  • 66% of undergraduate females and 45% of undergraduate males reported to experiencing verbal sexual harassment
  • 76% of undergraduate females and 70% of undergraduate males who experienced sexual assault did not feel it was necessary to report the harassment
  • 45% of survey-takers have little to no knowledge about how to seek help about sexual assault

After hearing the results of the survey, USC students responded:

“I always knew alcohol was one of the main contributors of sexual assault, but I didn’t realize the numbers were so high. Officials need to discipline offenders and speak to them one-on-one.”

-Joseph Lee

“My friend was assaulted and didn’t know where to go or what to do. I think USC is taking a step in the right direction by expanding its resources. Students need a place to talk about sexual assault.”

-Lauren Day

“I’m surprised that there are so many attackers at USC. I am not surprised that most victims were under the influence of alcohol since they weren’t as aware of their surroundings.”

-Zekhai Wong

“I am not surprised at the results but I have noticed DPS is starting to take extra precautions. Girls are no longer allowed to go upstairs in fraternity houses during parties.”

-Sarah Hansen

“The results are shocking and sad. I think we should be talking about this more on campus. I’ve heard that USC is taking more measures to prevent assault, but I am not sure what they are.”

-Kameni Ngahdeu

“The results were expected. I know a lot of girls who experienced some form of harassment when they’re drunk. It’s a messed up system right now. I wish there was more DPS presence on campus.”

-Amanda Cook

Some reactions were captured on video:

Video edited by John Marcus

--

--