More natural remedies

lonelyeyesblog
2 min readJun 5, 2024

--

#sjogrens #sjogrensdisease #dryeyes #dryeyedisease #autoimmune

While waiting for my next doctor appt to arrive; I have added in some more natural remedies. Waiting to see if they help.

I am in several dry eye groups, Sjogren’s groups, MGD groups etc. It is helpful to read what other people have tried and had success with.

I have read many reviews lately on using castor oil on the eye lids at night; drinking pure beet juice mixed with flax seed oil and adding Lutein with Zeaxanthin as a supplement. I found more and more positive success stories with people using natural remedies as well. I have always supported prescription medication and natural remedies. I have no problem with either of them. I think they both have their positives and are necessary.

For myself personally I have found it strange, no prescription eye drop or ointment I had tried over the past 3 years has helped. It makes you wonder, why me? Why does this medication help others but not myself? Also, it’s puzzling enough when 1 medication doesn’t help, but when several are tried and nothing helps. It really makes you think.

Hence, the reason for the castor oil, beet juice, flax seed oil and the new supplement.

I’ve only been using them for a couple of weeks now. I can’t give any solid reports yet; but I can say there have been a few days where my eyes are not as dry or painful as they usually are.

My routine has been; putting a small amount of castor oil on my eye lids before going to sleep. Wiping it off in the morning. Drinking 1 cup of pure beet juice mixed with 1 tablespoon of flaxseed oil; in the morning and in the evening. Along with taking the supplement on a daily basis.

Could this combination be making a positive impact? I’m not sure. Usually by mid day and evening, my eyes feel like they are on fire. They can sting terribly, burn, they can be extremely red, and so “exhausted” I can sometimes hardly open my eyes. Not to mention the extreme light sensitivity. I have noticed a few days here and there, where the above ailments have not been as extreme….

We will see what happens. I am going to continue using it all and see what transpires.

Originally published at http://lonelyeyes4.wordpress.com on June 5, 2024.

--

--

lonelyeyesblog

Sharing my blog about living with Sjogren's Dry Eye Disease and how it impacts daily life