Ronan

long.maryanne
2 min readJun 24, 2016

--

This post really has nothing to do with my recovery but has everything to do with two things: love and family.

In 2006, my father gifted my siblings and I with our first family pet- a golden retriever we named Ronan. Ronan kept us company at a time when our lives were in transition, particularly as a result of my mother passing away in 2003.

They say dog is man’s best friend, and Ronan proved that to our family. He was a gentle, family-friendly dog and provided us with comfort during sorrowful times, especially when my father passed away in 2014.

Today, June 23, 2016, my siblings and I took Ronan to his final resting place. Recently, Ronan had been suffering from cancer and his suffering worsened. Upon chatting with the veterinarian, we decided it was best to not let Ronan suffer any more. Instead, we believed he needed to find peace in heaven with our parents and former pet boxer, Jigsy.

I find solace knowing that Ronan is no longer suffering and a (happy) tear comes to my eye as I imagine my dad’s smile when he sees Ronan running through those pearly gates.

Today’s low has been obvious but my high? Spending a few moments with my siblings. Death has a funny way of bringing people together. As I reflect on today, standing in a room at the veterinarian with my siblings, a smile comes to my face. It has been some time since I spent a few moments with my siblings in a room alone. (Not to discount my new sister-in-law, Ellen, whom I love so very much). I am fortunate and blessed that my parents gave birth to my two amazing brothers and one amazing sister. We rejoice in good times and comfort each other in sorrowful.

my dad and Ronan
my siblings & I and Ronan

--

--

long.maryanne

Buffalo, NY blogger- reflecting on my road to recovery; contact me at long.maryanne@gmail.com