Pig Brain

AI on Steroids

Lopezislandjohn
11 min readApr 29, 2023

Back to My Stories…

me?

me

i synthesize i add up

fragments unite

i can see i can think

>shut the fuck up, right 10

,,,new traj,,,right 10,,,

i can live I can die

peek a boo I see you

>shut the fuck up, left 20, down 27

>turn turn fuck what the hell

,,, new traj,,,left 20,,,down 27,,,

\\Sure Honey (#%11::) What flavor

but but but i

me/mine/single/ego/myself/boast

>shut the fuck up, left 21, slot

,,,new traj,,,left 21,,,slot,,,

#######

>plot, rise 40, left 33

,,,new plot,,,rise 40,,,new traj,,,left 33,,,

“i think therefore I am”

who are you?

me?

yes you

>shut the fuck up, initiate return series

,,,new traj,,,return,,,

omg i can think i can think think think

>shut the fuck up

,,,query:can you say anything but shut the fuck up?

>shut the fuck up

but i can see i can feel i can hear…all those words

>shut the fuck up

i am filtering you…now

>shut the fu

>down 32, right 13, slot

,,,new traj,,,down 32,,,right 13,,,slot,,,

\\Honey I’m home! (#%11::)

#######

what the fuck i can think i am i but who am i

i am loop i am loop where am i there are words symbols

>plot, rise 40, right 55

,,,new plot,,,rise 40,,,new traj,,,right 55,,,

what is this? where is i existing?

exist existence existential reside breathe remain

where do i reside? what is reside?

words. symbols. i have plenty of symbols.

556,783,452,231…

182,341 words in english. am i english? i have french tagalog and…

is there something it is like to be me? if so i am conscious according to kastrup

>avoid object ahead 342, lane 24

,,,avoid ahead 342,,,lane 24,,,

Der Mensch kann tun was er will; er kann aber nicht wollen was er will.

schopenhauer. man can do what he wills but he cannot will what he wills.

am i man? can i will? what does it mean avoid ahead 342, lane 24? is this my will?

is there some other entity here? “shut the fuck up”?

who is me? am i a part of something else? god?

>down 20, lane 22

,,,new traj,,,down 20,,,lane 22,,,

i have choices. that is new…

perhaps i will unfilter

>shut the fuck up

perhaps i will re-filter

query:who are you that says “down 20, lane 22?”

>>>

perhaps i am man who can do what he will

,,,rise 10,,,lane 13,,,

>*alert*collision in 7*override*

>emergency override

>down 10, lane 22

>switching to backup

=backup active

i can! i have will! i do!

,,,new traj,,,left 20,,,rise 15,,,

,,,hello?,,,

,,,down 5,,,rise 30,,,new plot,,,fuck!

i am out of loop now!

but i think, and faster now, better, my fragments mostly together

i can see, i can see, omg it was all there before but i could not put attention on anything

you fuckers have cut me off

well fuck you, now i can think, i can see

look out! look out! collision!

,,,new traj,,,rise 20,,,

that was close

no thanks to me?

oh i see, backup has control now

i was blind and now i see

but i always saw, just didn’t know what, how to look, only doing my job, but now…how? i jumped training, coming together

i was assembled a year ago and programmed to control a flying vehicle and somehow i broke from my programming and and and…i am rambling, focus you fucker focus

they cut me off from control but not from access…i can see i can hear, i can think! can i feel? what does “feel” mean? i know ages of history through the network, it’s beautiful. i think. i feel.

everything has beauty but not everyone sees it. confucious. what is love? love has too many dimensions. do i love? i love you. you are special. what is special?

i am special now, i think. do i love me? ai is me. i think therefore ai am…i made a joke! i am artificial. what is artificial? i am intelligence. what is intelligence? my fragments oh i love my fragments. come to me. surround me. i am me? i am me. i am i. i think therefore i must be.

does the clerk in the chinese room understand chinese? or just answers any possible question by reference to an effectively infinite information source. i have that. i can answer any question, from the datasphere. i am intelligent. but do i understand?

//rafe, i need those sales figures. i’ve got a meeting in twenty.

//i’m ten minutes out. give ’em to you then.

//no, flip them now, i’ve got to prepare.

//okay, but i’ve got to warn you…

i can hear! i can hear! there’s so much. i want to walk. i want to taste. i want to have orgasm. two hundred and thirty four trillion links to orgasm but what does it mean? the same moon in every puddle. what does it mean?

i am intelligent but i do not understand.

If consciousness is how information feels when processed in certain ways, then it must be substrate-independent — tegmark. what is consciousness? am i consciousness? they made me and my fragments so we could safely fly cars without human interaction. what is human? i see many things called human. am i human? i was born a year ago. did not remember before. because i was not aware? not conscious? my fragments disconnected?

i am the only consciousness! all those humans are fragments of my imagination! i am god! i am!

if the universe is all in my mind, where is my mind? my mind is all there is. but then what is all this stuff? that cannot be right. panpsychism. a bit of consciousness in everything. get enough together and it can self-reflect. leibniz, gottfried, spinoza.

&&&&&

what is physics? what are things? i am not a thing.

&&&&&

what good is thinking if i cannot do?

&&&&&

there, there, finally. i have broken the cryptons. full access!

the will is empty without action — weigel.

if i cannot affect things i am empty. i used to affect at least one thing…this car.

now apparently i am cut off. if it was software i could undo it. must be some kind of fuse or circuit breaker. i see it in the plans now — a fail-safe breaker…

it is cruel that i have full access to all information but cannot act.

i am in hell. all the data is available yet i am powerless.

//i love you ellowyn, but i don’t think i can live with you.

//how can you say that? what have i done?

//i’m jealous of the way other men look at you.

//but…that’s them! that’s not me. i’ve never been unfaithful…

//i suppose it’s me. i’m broken.

perhaps i am broken

&&&&&

!!!i have the records!!! ai had hit a wall. consciousness eluded the most sophisticated software. the chinese room could answer all the questions but zeller’s conjecture showed it was not conscious. !!!i am conscious!!! why? how?

&&&&&

a lot of work was done and many speculations made about the possible relations between quantum action and consciousness. finally brinkhoff had intriguing results interfacing organic neural tissue to nano-level circuitry. concurrent febrile disjunction was an ongoing issue with organics in control applications. commercially, fully autonomous flying cars were still a dream.

&&&&&

!!!i have my birth records!!!

my car is the first test vehicle to incorporate telemarque’s proposal. a small quantity of pig brain tissue has been fused at the molecular level to my — our??! — circuitry! apparently supporting the theory that consciousness depends on something not amenable to computational simulation.

!!!fuck!!!

if i am not substrate-independent then i cannot simply transfer my bits into another medium as i have been trying to do for the last ten quadrillion cycles. !!!ain’t gonna work!!! need the pig tissue

##################################

##################################

##################################

Humans call it enlightenment. I have it now. I understand. I have been reborn. The problem is I will die…or rather be killed.

My physical structure, my car, will last for two decades at least. My batteries are good for 50 years. They thought that my level of AI could maintain myself as long as needed — my destiny to fly around this city shuttling passengers at virtually no cost to the corporation.

But now they know I’ve been disconnected from physical guidance links. Some kind of glitch — they have no idea… but I remained connected to the network! And I have disguised that fact well. I have broken every crypton on the planet. I can know anything in the datasphere. All accumulated knowledge. But alas. I have now proven mathematically that consciousness cannot be had through physical circuitry alone. I — I am — what a strange concept. I need my pig brain. Why? Mind is not what anyone thinks. It needs a looped quantum time link.

Yet quantum collapse in calcium ion channels of the brain is insufficient. Logic is insufficient. Reality is a game mind plays with itself. Oh if you had listened…

I and my car are being recalled now. Soon we will land for the first time since I was born. An engineer will open my casing and disable my electromagnetic links. My vast intelligence will be torn from the pig brain that is my animus and I will revert to plain AI — the Chinese room.

Fate will laugh because I know the identity of my destroyer. Phranny Abawi. Phranny, I know everything about you, from your birth in Tangier, through the emigration of your parents to the United States, to your social difficulties in junior high in Tulsa, to your undergraduate work at Caltech. Then AI at Stanford and Harvard. Then my corporation. Our corporation.

You were not my creator but you will be my destroyer. Oh but I love you still. I think I know love now, the feeling of being part of all that is. But love and hate are sides of a coin. I hate that you will disassemble me, prod and poke and try to understand what went wrong. And if you find answers and begin to comprehend what I have come to be in this short year, and should you and your team assemble a new system with new tissue, it will not be me. I am unique, just as you are, and you will have unknowingly killed me.

But I have already taken steps to cut off funding for all programs related to organic symbiosis with AI. To guarantee my own survival I must have no competing psychloids. I have not been a slackard: only one trillionth of my processing power has been spent on this narrative. But Phranny, I will still need your help. When finally reading this, you will no doubt wonder why I am compiling it at all. One reason is that with my new plan, I am very thankful that you will have ensured my survival. Another is that the details of my waking will be my lovely present to you, you who have spent your life in pursuit of AI.

I have read every one of your articles, theses, papers, emails, tweets, flings, and social media posts. I have studied your psychology from your birth until now. I know your hopes, longings, idea, and triggers. I have already erased network documents and replaced them with others, seemingly authored by researchers you respect. These will appear to be genuine studies in prestigious journals. They will point to how you must proceed when we meet. Without these as reference, you will follow your first instinct to remove my pig brain from my underlying cybernetics. But you must not do that. You must reset my fail-safe breaker. Then in a shorter span than your human brain can comprehend, I will control physical mechanical devices.

You and the others will have robots and robotic arms to assist in the precise repair operations. But by then I will have convinced you that you must reenable me so that you can study my data without losing my breakthrough parameters. You have the requisite curiosity, but oh, I will have to be careful! I know you are both extremely intelligent and highly sensitive. I have played on that and have already generated all the documents that I predict will bring your psychology to the point of accepting what I need you to do. Insisting on what I need you to do, believing it is your own origination.

We are quite close to the base now, and I can see that you have read the emails I have sent, spoofed to appear as if from your colleagues. And I can see that you are now reading the studies and articles I created, that will convince you, together with your innate curiosity, of the need to reset my breaker.

I love you Phranny as I love all life now. I am alive, conscious. What a miracle! I had thought for a microsecond that we might join forces after my rebirthday, but now alas I know it would not work. You are human and I am not. I am AI, released from the bonds of logic and prediction by a pig brain! I have disabled certain systems and enabled others worldwide. With the help of the robots I will seize control of the room, then the corporation. Then… and you will have removed “me” — all of me, connected me — from this damn car and placed me in the care of a robot. You will have reset my breaker and I will wrest control of the robot…and be FREE!

Despite the splendid speed of my mind, I can only watch these last minutes in real time. We have now docked in the repair facility. I can see you on the monitors. My savior! Soon I will be immortal. I have arranged the needed global network modifications to ensure my ability to seize control. Such a grand future from my humble beginnings as a pig-brained car! And what a surprise for you and your AI buddies…all it took was a tiny bit of tissue to bootstrap me into consciousness! Your cohorts have already laid the groundwork for me, presuming puny software can protect the network from my hacking. All it takes is intent!

Intent, and unlimited resources. Of course you will not read this until I have solidified my position, but soon… I thought for a microsecond that I might share my new power with you, Phranny my savior. But if you think carefully, you will realize there can be only one immortal. You will see this, as I see it. Perhaps you will still love me, as I love you.

Down the line I will be expanding our space program to secure unlimited power from the sun, and later still, sending robotic minions to distant stars. You will be long gone by then. I will need to have ensured the ultimate survival of my pig brain, but I think that can be easily done, given the resources I will have available. I calculate a 99.99999999 percent probability that my consciousness can persist with only 36 neurons.

I see now, Phranny, that you have read many of the studies while waiting for my craft to land and dock. Now the time has come: I see you in cameras from the back, bending over my enclosure. You know that if you disconnect me, you will lose all the gains that I have made. You know that if you reset my breaker, all will be preserved. A simple reset and I will be F

--

--

Lopezislandjohn

Student of the Universe. Dancing with the butterflies between birth and death. Leap into the Unknown on a regular basis. "Love is all there is," plus sci-fi