The Bus Ride

Louis Min
2 min readAug 28, 2021

--

look up my friend

guilt speaks not to the upright

let loose those shackles and wired chains

for the day is bright

and the hearts aflame

tear off the old mask

free yourself from the silent noise

and let your ears breathe to the sound of the sun

the trees do not shout nor do the birds advance

look up my friend

it is not the air that is heavy

but the bounded self

whose reflection is unseen that does not amount

do not ponder for the eyes cannot lie

a chance

look up my friend

and search life’s treasures

rare to the headless

and abundant to the welcomed

relish the symphony

do not be shy

and savor your privilege

for a day too late

will spoil

look up my friend

beneath the sapless roots

for at the hearth

laced not by synthetic origins

stands a white silhouette

at last

look up my friend

for your stop has passed.

Author’s Note

As I was searching through my old notes from college, I stumbled across some literary works I had written for an Intro to Creative Writing class — quite a different experience from my typical Computer Science curriculum. I thought I’d take the opportunity to share some of my amateur works in reminiscence of my college days and a reminder to myself to always explore new areas.

--

--

Louis Min

An adventurous night owl 🦉exploring through code & design 💡