American Creed

tibien brouet
4 min readJun 16, 2022

--

How does your family & community history connect to your American creed?

Before anything can be said about how my family and community history connects to my American Creed, we first have to understand what it is. First of all, The American Creed is a term used to refer to the idea that the defining element of American identity, first formulated by Thomas Jefferson and elaborated by many others, includes liberty, equality, individualism, populism, and laissez-faire. I believe that my parents’ history of how I ended up in America is very important.

American Creed

Celine Brouet

My mother was born in 1971 in France(Montpellier to be exact). She lived a pretty rough childhood especially with her family and everything that was going on. Growing up she did not have much money at all so it was very hard for her to acquire many things that she wanted. Over the years she managed to get a bachelor degree in business and wanted to further her education. Unfortunately that did not entirely work out for her when she met my dad because they ended up having other plans. My dad found a job in the US and decided that it would be better if raising a family in America would be a better option. Although it was a good idea to raise a family here in the US, my mother and her education did not end up doing very well. When she tried looking for jobs, everywhere denied her because her degrees were from France and not from the US. So over the course of four years she had to redo all her academics to receive her American bachelor degree in business. After a long rough amount of years, my mother is finally happy with what she is doing right now, she is exactly where she wants to be in life with a very happy family. My mother has worked very hard to be in the position she is in now and I could not be any more proud of her and her journey to make it here.

My mother is not in this picture but graduating college in America is a great accomplishment for her.

Bruno Brouet

Like my mother, my father was also born in France(Bezier) in 1956. My father had a more rough childhood than my mother. Money for him barely existed and everything was very limited, food, supplies, etc. My father grew very fond of planes at an early age and always wanted to become a pilot one day. During his teenage years he would go to the airport and pay his own lessons and learn little by little how to fly planes. He was deployed in the army for about six years and even then he was still determined about this dream of his. Although it did not seem possible, he found every single opportunity to fly planes or helicopters. At one point he was one of the helicopter pilots and boat captain for one of the only yachts in the world to have two helipads on board. This was one of his greatest achievements because it sparked his knowledge in flying more and more. He later met my mother and he decided that there would be better pilot jobs in the US. So they set off to America in search of a new job and soon enough he found one. He came into America with little to no money and he found it very hard to survive with my mom. However, they both trusted the process in hopes that one day all his hard work would pay off. After almost 30 years of being in the US and flying as much as possible, my dad was able to make more than a living for him and my family. He turned nothing into something with his hard work and dedication. Same with my dad, I am beyond grateful and proud of all his hard work and dedication, because without him then I would not be where I am today.

The company my dad flew for over 20 years.

Conclusion

In the end, both of my parents have fought long and hard to be in the place they are right now with a beautiful and healthy relationship and family. If it wasn’t for either of them to come to the US or to put a lot of hard work in, I do not believe I would be living such a happy life right now. I am beyond thankful for both of my parents.

Word Count:729

--

--