landing page hack for startups

How and Why I Request Users to Pay for a BETA MVP.

An Unspoken Landing Page Hack for Startups.

Louis Tromans
2 min readJun 26, 2020

--

On my shitty landing page (https://www.spreadtech.online/) I have two signup options. One paid and one free.

The first one is for a $1 Prime access account to the Spread Beta.

The second is a $0 Standard access account to the Spread Beta.

What do I hope to achieve from this?

A higher conversion rate into the free plan… Bet you never saw that coming.

I don’t care about the $1’s. I want the emails.

I believe having two options, paid and unpaid, will lead to a much higher conversion rate into the unpaid option. Rather than just leaving it at one option.

I also believe the ones that do pay the $1 will have a much higher retention and engagement rate within the launched beta.

The psychology behind this

Have you ever spoken to anyone, and they ask you a favour like “ Can I borrow your [favourite] pen?”

You say “no”, as it’s your favourite. But then they ask, “well can I have your old pen then?”

You reply “yes” as a way to subside the guilt for originally saying no.

The same will happen on my landing page (I believe).

Users generally won’t signup for a paid BETA. Especially on a WIX made landing page. But they definitely will (and many have) signed up on the free one.

This will be especially effective for users who would have otherwise closed the page and turned away.

What do you think?

I want to hear what you guys think of this method and if you’ll be using it on your product’s landing page?

Let me know below and ask any questions too!

if you want me to do a results follow up to this then let me know and I will!

--

--

Louis Tromans

21 Marketing Mad. So MAD I made Spread. My personal content repurposing tool :WARNING: Thoughts from the startup mindspace — dark place.