A Shocking Revelation

30-Day Writing Challenge #26

Ruby Noir 😈
9 min readSep 26, 2022
Photo Source: iStock

Prompt: When was the last time you left your comfort zone — how did you grow?

This prompt I needed to really think about. A lot. Repeatedly.

I had several answers, but none of them felt right to me. Because I honestly couldn’t figure out what my comfort zone is. If you don’t know that, it’s hard to know when you’ve left it.

It would be easy to say that I’ve left my comfort zone every time I’ve gone into the ocean with all of the sea life that I’m afraid of. The last time was for my engagement photos in 2019. But outside of the water isn’t really my comfort zone. In the water definitely isn’t either… obviously… so what does that mean?

Do I have one?

I know the term comfort zone doesn’t refer to a physical location. It can. It could mean leaving home for the first time… I did that when I was seven years old. And it was terrifying. But so was my home. I was an unwanted child born to a mother who hated me simply for existing. She screamed at me. Put me down. Picked me apart. Reminded me constantly that I owed my life to her, and she could just as easily take it away as she allowed me to have it at all. That certainly wasn’t a comfort zone. Neither was where I went when I left.

--

--

Ruby Noir 😈

14 X’s Top Writer. Vet tech and mom of 6 rescue animals. I speak for those who have no voice.