Dance Out Of The Darkness

30-Day Writing Challenge #19

Ruby Noir 😈
4 min readSep 21, 2022
Photo by Tima Miroshnichenko: Pexels

Prompt: What career advice would you give your 16-year-old self?

It had to be 16.

My loyal readers know that when I was 16 years old, my world was forever changed. I was tossed into darkness by a brutal assault that I barely survived.

I also already had a career.

I was still a student at the time at the School of American Ballet in Manhattan, being primed to join the New York Ballet Company the following year. But I did a lot of paid performances, modeled for costume catalogs, and had been earning my own money for many years.

I hated it. Viscerally. I wanted an escape more than I wanted anything. And then the assault happened.

For the two months that I spent in the hospital, I longed to be in a ballet studio. I longed for weigh-ins and measurements and calorie counts and iced feet and bleeding toes because all of the pain of ballet was self-inflicted.

Sort of.

The pain of my assault was incomprehensible and much like I keep repeating to myself through this illness… I wanted my life back. Even if at that time, it was a life that I despised… it was a life that I recognized and understood my place within. I returned as a very different dancer. “Dance…

--

--

Ruby Noir 😈

14 X’s Top Writer. Vet tech and mom of 6 rescue animals. I speak for those who have no voice.