What’s In A Name?

30-Day Writing Challenge #9

Ruby Noir 😈
4 min readSep 20, 2022
Photo by Pixabay: Pexels

You see what I did there? Think Romeo and Juliet and my title if you don’t get it.

Anyway.

Prompt: Write about your name. Who named you and why? Does your name have meaning?

I have a very strange disconnect from my name. Probably because I rarely hear it. No one really calls me Courtney.

I absolutely hate being called Court. The only people allowed to call me that are people that I share DNA with. And even then, it bothers my ears to hear it. I don’t know why. I just don’t like it. But even with the shortened version, it’s rare that anyone refers to me by name.

My husband usually calls me “babe” if he is trying to get my attention. But we live in the digital age. If someone wants to call out for me from another room or something… they just text me.

In my family, we don’t use names, we use titles. When I write about my brother, I never use his name. Part of that is for his anonymity, but it is also what I do off of this screen. If I’m talking to someone (including his girlfriend) about my brother, I do not use his name. I say, “my brother.” He calls me “my sister.” We do it with our cousins too.

“My cousin” becomes confusing to people when you have a lot of them. But we don’t care. We’re a…

--

--

Ruby Noir 😈

14 X’s Top Writer. Vet tech and mom of 6 rescue animals. I speak for those who have no voice.