The Hidden Danger of Low Calorie Sweeteners

Low Carb Chad
2 min readApr 28, 2018

--

Low Calorie Sweeteners are not as safe as they seem.

“Oh-oh! I’ve been fasting for 14 hours and my blood sugar is 110. This can’t be good.”

I bought the blood glucose monitor because I wanted to know if I was getting into ketosis.

What I discovered was not good.

My BG was high. I had only one thing to eat since the previous evening, a Sugar Free Low Calorie flavor packet in my morning water. My body should have been well on its way to depleting excess sugar.

“I’m doing everything right, why is it going so wrong?”

Artificially Flavored Drink Mixes can be high on the glycemic index.

All Low Calorie Sweeteners Are Not Created Equal

The thing I never thought to check was the glycemic level.

Why should I?

If an artificial sweeteners is a zero (or low) calorie food, it’s a freebie, right?

Nope!

Artificial sweeteners have wildly different glycemic ratings.

Maltodextrin (the kind in my favorite drink mixes) is one of the worst.

Sugar and Sweetener Guide has a great breakdown of all the sweeteners.

Glycemic Index for Sweeteners (from sugar-and-sweetener-guide.com)

Wow! Look at all of those zero-GI sugars!

I can just use one of those, right?

Not so fast!

Even zero-GI sugars have cautions.

Sucralose

Sucralose, which we know as Splenda, has been rated as “Avoid” by the Center for Science in the Public Interest.

An independent study found that Sucralose caused leukemia and cancer in mice.

Saccharine

Saccharine, which is made from coal tar and we know as Sweet N Low, probably causes cancer.

Aspartame

Aspartame, which we know as Nutrasweet and Equal, causes Alzheimers, Parkinsons, and who list of other problems.

If You Must (And I Do)

Since giving up sweeteners isn’t an option for me, here’s some better alternatives.

Luo Han Guo (Monkfruit) is one of the best. It’s a natural sugar, zero-GI, and 200 times sweeter than sugar.

Stevia is another natural sugar that seems safe, but the FDA has pegged its Acceptable Daily Intake at 9 packets a day.

Erythritol is a 1-GI sugar alcohol that also contains beneficial antioxidant properties.

Sorbital and Xylitol are sugar alcohols but are difficult on some people’s stomachs.

Conclusion

Everything in moderation.

And do a little research.

Before I grab that next low-calorie wonder food, I’m going to look at the ingredients and check the glycemic index.

--

--

Low Carb Chad

Former Marine, regenerative agriculture enthusiast, publisher of LowCarbSuccess.co