How I transitioned into UX

Or, how I put my PhD in psychology to good use

Laura Rivera
6 min readFeb 1, 2016

When I graduated with a PhD in cognitive psychology 8 years ago, I knew academics wasn’t for me, but that didn’t exactly clarify what my options were for research careers outside academia. In my graduate department, options outside of academics were vaguely talked about as “industry.” As in “Oh, she went into industry…” followed by an awkward pause while I tried to imagine what that meant. I wasn’t sure how to learn about these “industry” alternatives. I now know that with my degree, the opportunities to do research outside academics are abundant. I could have pursued big data, user experience (UX) research, market research, or program evaluation, just to name a few. I wish someone had made me aware of all these choices, and I hope this article will serve as a valuable resource for those of you out there in the same boat.

My (stumbling) path to a non-academic research career

Immediately out of grad school, I got a job at a non-profit organization doing program evaluation research. I stumbled into evaluation totally by chance after talking to fellow grads from my department, rather than through any strategic decision. Luckily, I found I liked it a lot. The people were smart and talented, and the work was dynamic and fast-paced. One of the biggest differences I encountered upon leaving academics was that non-academic research is, well, non-academic. It wasn’t so much the lack of rigor that surprised me, but more that such smart, talented researchers were so happy with the situation. Grad school had molded me into a bit of a research snob, and it took me awhile to appreciate the value of research that’s far less rigorous than I’d been taught was acceptable. Applied research has different goals and necessitates a different level of rigor. I’m sure not everyone would agree with this or be able to accept it in practice, so you’ll need to decide for yourself how you feel.

I stayed with program evaluation for 7 years, eventually rising to a senior leadership position. And while I loved the work and the people, evaluation research is a bit tangential to cognitive psychology. I started to yearn for a return to my research roots. I also wanted to explore opportunities outside the non-profit sector. So I decided to pursue UX research. If you’re not familiar with UX, it’s important to know that it’s an umbrella term that encompasses visual and interaction design, content strategy, research and other areas. UXMastery.com has a great article if you want to learn more. This time around I was far more strategic in my decision, and I’ll share what I found to be essential as I got started. I hope you might find UX as intriguing and exciting as I do. Even if UX isn’t your thing, my experience may give you ideas for exploring the field that’s right for you.

The UX basics

First, in case you know nothing about UX research, I’ll give you the basics. It includes both quantitative and qualitative methods, with the emphasis on qualitative. If you have good quant skills it’s a benefit (many are daunted by quant data, so if you like it and understand it, you’ll have an edge), but it’s critical to understand and enjoy the qual side. If you’re a cognitive psychologist like me, you likely have the training to do all these things, but you may need to learn the tactical skills to become proficient. Methods include surveys, interviews, observation (called ethnography, but that term is used more loosely than in sociological research), card sorting, usability studies, AB and multivariate testing (multivariate is another term used very differently in this context). Inferential statistics are not much used, but in my opinion, it’s always a good skill to have.

The field of UX is still evolving, and research is becoming more and more important, which is great if you’re interested in getting into it: now is a good time. On the flip side, a lot of jobs require a broad array of skills in addition to research. Lots of places (especially start-ups, smaller or medium sized agencies, or companies just beginning to develop a UX team) are looking for a unicorn (that mythical employee with all skill sets ever imagined). So while UX design is in high demand, specialized research-only roles are a bit harder to come by and are usually found at larger companies, which have the resources to support a large, specialized team. If you’re open to moving, cities like San Francisco or New York have bigger UX markets and my experience suggests that they may offer more specialized roles. Don’t get me wrong, research-specific roles do exist outside SF and NY, as I can attest, living and working in Denver.

My approach to exploring UX

When I considered UX, I (naturally) researched the field by doing informational interviews with as many people as I could. I highly recommend this strategy no matter what field you’re interested in exploring. I found that UXers love to help others learn about what they do. Maybe UX attracts people who are naturally helpful or empathetic (in fact, empathy is so important there’s a whole book about it!), or maybe people just like to tell their story, but whatever the reason, I was amazed by how eager and willing people were to help me get my foot in the door. Offer to buy someone coffee, and they’ll talk your ear off. Don’t underestimate the value of getting to know a few people! Other great ways to get to know people are to attend meetups or bookclubs relevant to the field you wish to explore. Networking is the number one reason I landed my first UX research position.

Another great way to learn and make yourself competitive is to take an online course. I took a human computer interaction course through Coursera, which was great for giving me some tactical skills. Coursera even offers an interaction design specialization if you really get into the design aspect of UX. And then read! There are a bazillion books and articles (I counted) to help, and happily, the reading in this field is a lot faster and lighter than in academics. Just Enough Research by Erika Hall was a great introduction to how research in this field differs from what I was used to.

When shifting to UX, I had to come to terms with checking my ego at the door, and you might too (especially if you want to pursue a broader role than just research). I considered internships and other lower-level roles, even though I was a research director in the field of program evaluation. There is a lot to learn besides the research fundamentals. It’s ideal to develop a T-shaped skill set: deep skills in one area (research) and broader skills in other related areas (e.g. design or information architecture). I would not say I have that broader skill set yet, but I’ve been fortunate to find a specialized role, and I’m still working on it. For me, the silver lining of taking a lower-level position (my current title is UX researcher) at a for-profit company is that I’m already earning more than I was as a director at a non-profit. That’s partly due to negotiating and experience, but the point is that there’s more room for financial growth outside the non-profit sector or academics.

If you decide to start looking for a UX research position, know that job titles are all over the place. Lots of articles like this one can help you figure out what’s what. Search terms include UX design, UX research, usability, user research, human computer interaction, and probably lots of others, too. It can be a bit confusing, so read job descriptions and learn more about the role to get a better understanding about what the title actually means. Companies tend to ask for skills and experience that often aren’t realistic or might not even make sense. They know they need “UX” but don’t know how to talk about it. I regularly see positions asking for unicorns when a non-unicorn will meet their needs and is more likely what they’ll end up hiring given the available pool of applicants. Don’t be afraid to apply, even if you don’t have all the skills listed. Opt in, and let them decide whether or not you’re a fit.

Believe in your choices

Whether UX is right for you or not, the best advice I can give to anyone just trying to figure out what to do with your psychology PhD is to simply give yourself the chance to explore. You have desirable skills that can be used in ways you might not even imagine. I hope you find what you’re passionate about, and I wish you well on your journey of discovery!

--

--

Laura Rivera

UX Research Manager at Peloton. Lover of books, long walks, wine, and dinner parties with friends. The opinions stated here are my own, not those of my company.