Interview with Alicia Vela Bailey (Lights Out)

luca karon
7 min readJan 3, 2017

--

Sitting throughout from the beautiful Alicia Vela-Bailey, you’d by no means anticipate her to be the girl behind ‘Diana’ within the new horror thriller LIGHTS OUT, from David F. Sandberg. Alicia is much from the monstrous and creepy presence who lurked within the shadows terrorizing Teresa Palmer. In actual fact, the stunt girl/actress is gorgeous, vivid and charmingly humorous. Nonetheless, when referred to as for, she will be able to simply tackle a horrifying persona.



Not too long ago, a small group of journalist had the pleasure of sitting down with the LIGHTS OUT star to speak in regards to the film’s spectacular opening — particularly contemplating the price range — and dealing with the primary time characteristic movie director. The actress/stunt girl has labored in every part from BATMAN V SUPERMAN: DAWN OF JUSTICE to DIVERGENT, in addition to a ton of style options. Alicia will subsequent seem within the horror sequel ANNABELLE 2, additionally directed by Sandberg, so it appears like Alicia might develop into a serious pressure on the earth of horror.



Not often will we see actors in a task like Diana, it’s oftentimes CG. What was it like so that you can step into the function of Diana in LIGHT’S OUT?



It was a lot enjoyable. When David first confirmed me the character and the art work, I used to be so excited. It was so creepy. And I like horror films. I like all that eeriness and simply attempting to assist create the temper and produce the character to life. I had loads of enjoyable with it.



It was enjoyable to look at.



Yeah, even for me too. There are specific scenes the place I forgot about, and I even jumped. , I neglect about sure issues. It appears completely totally different within the movie typically than on-set. After which with the music and every part all mixed collectively, it’s simply creepy. I used to be like, YES!



Have been you truly scared by your personal efficiency?



There was a degree the place I used to be like, oh… But in addition after I’m doing the actions and stuff, I don’t see myself . So it’s extra of simply what I really feel like so seeing it was actually cool. I used to be like, oh, that’s what it appears like. So it was enjoyable.



Did you get so as to add your personal interpretation of how Diana would transfer, or was that one thing David clearly had mapped out in his head?



Yeah, he positively had an thought however I don’t suppose he actually knew precisely how it could look on a human physique; or if somebody may transfer that means. Due to my dance and gymnastics background — I’m positive they’ve a video of my audition someplace — I used to be doing backbends and crawling on my arms. I used to be doing bizarre actions as a result of we had been identical to going absolutely a technique, after which he’d be like, “Oh I like this half, however perhaps not a lot this.” So we’d flip it round. We had been simply weaving out and in of doing totally different actions and attempting alternative ways this character can transfer and the way fast and the way supernatural the motion could be. It was simply, actually enjoyable.



How particularly choreographed does it need to be versus simply entering into the character?



It wasn’t like particularly choreographed. Sure scenes although, David had very particular moments he needed to seize and I’d all the time ask am I popping up actually quick, or like a sluggish increase and would you like it like… There have been totally different moments the place I’m crouched in a ball so would you like me to roll up via my backbone. Would you like me to only arise like a cat. Even with the unwinding of the arms as a result of the fingers are so lengthy — sluggish actions to quick actions — as a result of we sort of needed to combine issues up so not all of the actions could be the identical. It was by no means completely choreographed and we might do totally different variations of it, simply to see what would look higher on digital camera and what David favored.



I used to be noticing clearly in visuals, the look of it was like Asian horror. And what I assumed was extra attention-grabbing about Diana is that she may be very deliberate. All these different movies from THE RING to THE GRUDGE, they transfer slowly the entire time. Was aware selection within the script, or was it one thing you guys mentioned? She may be very deliberate, she doesn’t waste time.



Oh yeah. And I like that . I imply, I like the horror films the place the killer is all the time strolling at that very same tempo. It’s sort of enjoyable, you might be simply yelling, you may have time to run away. Go! However for this it’s like, she is going to creep up on you, and she is going to transfer quick if she must. That’s what I favored about it. You don’t know what to completely anticipate from her. After which realizing that she is admittedly sturdy too. She will toss you. I favored this character. It simply gave extra to the story and extra motion and simply alternative ways she may assault individuals.



It was sudden. I didn’t anticipate her to be so quick. That was creepy.



I do know. It labored.



That driveway scene, I didn’t see that coming.



It was a lot enjoyable to do all that stuff and simply. On set it was humorous as a result of I’d be sitting round in between takes attempting to remain cool within the swimsuit. It was humorous as a result of as Diana, I needed to remain at the hours of darkness. I knew I appeared hideous. It was simply actually bizarre. I virtually felt sorry for Diana. It’s sort of humorous, however each time anyone walked over, I’d scare them and I used to be attempting to not scare individuals. I used to be attempting to sit down quietly, however the make-up and every part was simply so creepy wanting.



Did they hold you separate? You hear loads of occasions the place they hold individuals separate.



Nicely typically, however the first scene I filmed with Teresa , she by no means noticed me till that scene. In order that helped along with her efficiency as properly.



Which scene was this?



The bed room, the place she first wakes up.



The purple mild?



Yeah. So it was loads of enjoyable.



Is there a level of problem? What’s the hardest factor for you when it comest to physicality?



Nicely there have been components the place I used to be rigged to the ceiling and being within the outfit is slightly restrictive. And I’d use these goggles with reflectors for the eyes, so it was actually arduous to see. And naturally the set is so darkish, so I’m like blind attempting to go to my mark and do the actions with out falling. Lots of occasions I used to be barefoot and I’d be on my toes simply to offer it an additional creepy issue. And I used to be attempting to not journey. I don’t need Diana to journey. That wouldn’t be as scary . It was attempting to make the delicate actions and keep tight in my core, and nonetheless I’d have to maneuver and appear to be I’m in full management. Typically I used to be like, oh, I’m going to journey on this rug as a result of I can’t see. That was the arduous half for me.



One of many issues that I don’t know in the event you all are conscious or not is that you’re speaking about it being tough to maneuver in a swimsuit and every part like that. There have been two totally different appears for Diana and considered one of them was sort of a black rubber swimsuit for the shadow Diana. And for the Diana you see within the black mild and what not, you had been in six to seven hours of prosthetic make-up.



I neglect what number of items. It was like twenty-something glued to my physique. I simply felt so icky. However it labored.



Did you discover a type of set ups tougher to work in than the others?



I truly most well-liked the shadowy, silhouette black model. As a result of it was a swimsuit, it was lots simpler to, , go to the toilet . The opposite one was simply… I wanted assist as a result of even consuming was arduous. My fingers had been lots longer so doing something was… I couldn’t simply choose up my cellphone, , I’m bored so I’m going to play video games. I felt like a child or disabled in a means. I couldn’t do my regular issues that I’d do. Even consuming, I needed to get my grilled cheese sandwich chopped up into little items and get a chopstick and stab it to eat. It was actually arduous. It’s the little stuff you take without any consideration. And you might be sticky and also you don’t need to mess up the make-up as a result of it took hours to do and you might be simply attempting to watch out. It was attention-grabbing.



That’s acquired to be an enormous assist with efficiency although.



It does truly. It actually does . It was humorous, there was this one scene the place we had been upstairs in Rebecca’s room and it was a very scorching day. I began sweating. And every part is glued to me so there may be nowhere for the sweat to go, and I began to really feel swimming pools simply pile up in me. It was so embarrassing. I had like an air bubble pocket come out of my leg and I simply began leaking all my sweat. I used to be like, it appears like I’m peeing proper now, I promise I’m not peeing . I simply felt so gross nevertheless it helped with enjoying Diana. It helped me. When it got here time to get all aggressive, I used to be prepared for it. I’d get out all my frustration. I used to be so hungry and I couldn’t eat my sandwich .

Click to Post

--

--

luca karon
0 Followers

Website Partner: http://horrornews.rf.gd — Notizie Horror News Shock Cronaca Nera Recensioni Film e Libri