I Let AI Draw a Moodboard For My App.

Are AI drawing tools good enough to generate assets for your app?

Lucas Chae 🌳
6 min readNov 9, 2022
“A herd of deer in a forest at night dancing around a disco ball” Left: DALL·E, Right: Midjourney

Bringing AI To Your Creative Workflow

One of the reasons why I chose to be a designer rather than an artist, is that I just wasn’t that good at drawing. I always looked up to people who could express whatever that’s in their heads on a piece of paper.

But this all changed with AI. With the birth of tools like DALL·E and Midjourney, people can now visually share their ideas with a click of a button.

I always thought that if I were to make an app, I would make it “minimalistic” to cover up my lack of drawing skills, or inevitably hire a freelance illustrator. Now with under $100, I can easily make hundreds of drawings every day.

I wanted to test if these tools were good enough to generate assets that can actually go on my apps.

I share my journey building apps from scratch as a non-developer. Subscribe to my newsletter to receive devlogs, tutorials, and random thoughts on tech/life.

The Tests

  • Test 1: Can AI generate an app screen?
  • Test 2: Vague Prompt
  • Test 3: Specific Prompt

--

--