Lucian
2 min readNov 30, 2022

My New Career — Front End Developer

Moving to a new country is a challenge, and so as changing to a new career. I hit both. Three months ago, I moved from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA to Vancouver, British Columbia Canada. Driving all the way from northeast to northwest. Been crossing so many cities, towns and villages. It is a long trip, but also a new chapter of my life. Luckily it gives me enough time to think about what should I do or what I have to do next.

I like creating things. I’d like to switch places between users and creators. Setting my own rules and creating my own map and inviting everyone to join my world. I felt excited about it. It is my dream. But then I went to business school. My major is international business and later business management. It was a horrible decision, and after ten years of my graduating, I’ve been working for many companies as a business consultant and a part time Realtor. Nothing special, nothing fancy, most of the time are boring until one day. The day my wife and I finally decided to move to Vancouver. We looked at map and set a route to cross the country and drive all the way from east to west. We’re so excited for this new journey and at the time I realized that it’s about time to make some change.

Moving to Canada really gives me a fresh start. I start to search online and talk to my IT friends. Everyone told me the benefit about joining a boot camp, and that is also the first time I met Juno. The first time Juno appeared to my eyes is while I browsing a forum that I basically read it everyday. Surprisingly, they have a section mainly talking about boot camp, and that is how I met Juno.

I did some research, consult some friends, and I heard many good things about Juno. Such as Juno has a great career center, their stuff and instructors are super nice. Their curriculum is not that crazy. So many good things. But what makes me finally decide to join Juno is because when I talk to Juno stuff, I felt I’m welcomed as a zero experienced coding student. I felt relaxed when I talking to Juno stuff, and most importantly, a very friendly environment to study with. I went through the web development course, my instructors are nice, friendly and helpful. My cohorts are dedicating and willing to help each other. Even though there is a lot of new stuff to absorb, but I don’t feel any pressure. I now become more confident to become a coder and I’m very happy I’ve made this decision.