A Birthday Poem

Laura Coor
1 min readAug 27, 2023

--

This was written as a gift in September 2022 that I never gifted.

Photo by Lan Gao on Unsplash

Silence shrieks inside my skull,
sending signals back and forth
so fast I’m stuck in a nightmare.

But your serendipitous smile
slides up from the corner of your mouth
and calms me into under drive.

A dream.
Like a drawing from a twelve year old
that is so endearing in turns darkness
into a wonderful day.

Heartbeats so strong they hurt,
holding me captive to my habit
of breathing so heavy my breath
combusts in my chest.

But your patience pacifies the
pointed pieces of me that
threaten to stab until perish.

Clairvoyance.
Like the satisfaction that comes
when capturing what’s in the corner
of one’s eye.

Fear forces its way in feverishly,
reminding me that it always finds
a way to make me fail.

But your readiness reassures me
that radically regulated frameworks
can be ripped through.

A silhouette.
Like the gentleness that comes with
standing hand in hand, peering into
the moonlit water on the day
you were born.

--

--

Laura Coor

I come from a small, lusciously green home town on the West Coast, and I dream to travel far... both outwardly and inwardly.