Creating a Personal Definition of Feminism

Why I don’t call myself a feminist…yet.

Lucy
4 min readSep 11, 2020
Digital drawing of multiracial women. Dawn, 14 Mar 2020. https://www.dawn.com/news/1540664

At first brush, the textbook explanation of feminism seems obvious; believing in the social, economic and political equality for women feels as simple as breathing air. It’d be absurd to disagree with this basic premise in 2020. Yet, summarizing a centuries-long movement that has undergone three waves and has produced countless variations into such a universally palatable definition feels empty and superficial. In my opinion, three tenets are necessary for feminism to be truly meaningful: an emphasis on intersectionality, the acknowledgement of one’s privilege, but most importantly, the ongoing commitment to take concrete action that challenges the status quo and uplifts underprivileged communities.

As Fannie Lou Hamer famously stated, “Nobody’s free until everybody’s free.” Meaningful feminism requires intersectionality, as not all inequities are created the same. Communities (and individuals within communities) across the globe face several intertwining threats to their freedom, liberation, and access to basic human rights. Having this foundation allows us to not only consider our own privileges and its influence on our beliefs and actions (or lack thereof), but it forces us to recognize different lived experiences that come with different genders, races, sexualities, ages, mental and physical abilities, and socioeconomic statuses.

For example, I often reflect on how my upbringing in an middle-class household with a mother who emphasized the necessity of a university degree (and paid for my entire tuition) has pushed me towards academic success since birth. With financial stressors out of the way, I was able to freely volunteer my time throughout university to attain the research experience required for graduate studies. Yet, an educational system that necessitates unpaid undergraduate labour in order to be a competitive applicant in future studies/careers presents a major barrier to those coming from low-income backgrounds, who must instead work paid, often minimum wage positions unrelated to their field, to sustain themselves. That is, if they have the resources and are pushed to pursue postsecondary education at all.

Still, it is not enough to recognize our own privilege and how we might benefit from oppressive structures and systems. To do so is simply a tool, a pair of training wheels, that prepares us to undertake concrete feminist action and do everything in our power to fight for policies for those with less advantage. In my previous example, this could look like advocating for the outlaw of unpaid internships, increased minimum wages, and the elimination of student debt. Simply declaring that we want equality will not bring about change or justice. Feminism is actionable. It fundamentally involves empathizing with, campaigning and advocating for people whose lives and appearances don’t look like our own, in a way that uplifts and centres marginalized voices without talking for or over them. And, to do so, we must not only challenge our own biases but also listen to and believe historically underprivileged communities when they share their experiences or opinions, without dismissal. It means going out of our way to challenge and disrupt social structures that oppress and trap certain groups in perpetual disadvantage. It involves perseverance: knowing that there is always more work to be done, and that we will receive continuous pushback from dominant groups at every stage, whether in the form of micro-aggressions and/or systemic violence, yet still refusing to give up.

Although I personally have held strong intersectional feminist beliefs for years, aim to learn new perspectives from other communities, constantly strive to recognize my implicit biases and privilege (and its impacts) as a middle-class, light-skinned, able-bodied, and cisgender woman, and have dipped my toes into feminist activism, I feel that I have much more work to undertake before I am comfortable categorizing myself a “true” or “full” feminist. As somebody at the very beginning of her feminist journey, it feels odd to align myself with the same label as the giants upon whose shoulders I stand, who have dedicated their entire lives to carve out the rights I currently enjoy today as an Asian woman living in Canada and the United States. Therefore, at this very moment at least, “feminist” is less so an identity, but rather an aspiration and a work in progress — in that it is my goal to dedicate my future career to bring about social change through community involvement, advocacy, and organization. One day, I know I will confidently call myself a feminist. In the meantime, I will dedicate my time to continuously learn and equip myself with the necessary tools to fully declare it as my identity.

--

--

Lucy
0 Followers

Big fan of any topic related to feminism, psychology, mental health, and all of their interconnections.