Gérard Depardieu: Behind the Legend, a Monster?

Gérard Depardieu : Derrière la Légende, un Monstre ?

Ludiane de Brocéliande
8 min readJan 6, 2024

--

Image created by the AI tool NightCafe — The author owns the provenance and copyright.

Before condemning someone, it is imperative NOT to blindly follow the herd of stupid moralists eager for imbecile sanctions devoid of all nuance, common sense and discernment. In short, the sounds of bells are not the echo of just one of them, but of the tone of each of them.

I specify that I have never met Gérard Depardieu. Neither shared a shoot with him.

However, witch hunts make me want to vomit.

It is in this spirit that I decided to republish this letter from 1988 addressed to Catherine Deneuve at the end of the filming of “A strange place for a meeting”, directed by François Dupeyron.

☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆

“My dear Catherine,

We have just spent twelve weeks together. It was the first time we filmed outdoors, at night. I saw you beautiful and tired, beautiful and tense, I discovered you beautiful at night.

There are fixed, selfish beauties, beauties who seek to impose on you, to reduce you to the role of Sganarelle or Quasimodo. True beauty is rewarding. Near her, near you, I felt incapable of bad thoughts, of being violent. This beauty soothes, reassures, makes you better. It’s a real

--

--

Ludiane de Brocéliande

Owner of : https://medium.com/between-you-me. Francophone by birth. I write about animals, life, death, love, humor in prose and poetry.