The 40-year-old travel virgin

Lui Diaz
5 min readApr 28, 2022

Chapter 1. Important reflections and discoveries

Me. Shameless. In Toulouse

There I am. Yep, that’s me, taking a shameless selfie while walking through the streets of the lovely and lively city of Toulouse one morning, not to mention whilst carrying about 30kg total weight on my back and front.

Last week I wrote a story titled Post-pandemic travel and shortly after I realised many of my family, friends and followers alike were left wanting for more details about my little, big adventure. But before we get too far into it I need to cover a couple of key realisations and discoveries that have surfaced for me these past couple of months and set the scene for what’s to come.

Friends with benefits

The first thing you need to know is who your REAL friends are. I’ll give you a hint, it’s not everyone on your Facebook friends list, or all of your Instagram followers, although your real friends might be there.

I was on the phone with one of my best friends the other day, a charismatic French fella from Lyon who’s currently living in my home country of Australia. As we spoke, I frantically described what seemed like every minute of my journey. Over the two-hour long conversation, where I started by asking why he hadn’t returned my calls, whilst knowing all too well that he’s just not one of those phone guys, he…

--

--

Lui Diaz

Un-influencer. All action no talk. Chronic meme sharer.