My Path to Writing and Producing a Short Film

A story about the birth of a movie

Luigi Madormo
4 min readMar 14, 2019
A picture of the Crowdfunding Campaign for the short film FIT(IN). // Photograph by: Pedro Millás

Most part of you might be expecting a “how to” article. Maybe a showcase of a sucessfull story, or hints that points you towards effective steps that have been proven to work. Or at least reading a story of someone who has made it. Sorry to disappoint you, but that’s not the case. Actually, we are about to launch a crowdfunding campaign for the film, and our to-do list is considerably big. I want to talk about my process in discovering that I wanted to write and produce a movie. Better: my process to get to know something I love.

THINGS CHANGE

What an ordinary way to introduce a paragraph. The truth though, is that I am finally accepting this statement. In 2016, if you had asked me about the last time I went to a theatre and watched a movie, the answer could take a couple seconds to come out. Even though I really enjoyed watching films, I just had so much more to do and worry about so I wouldn’t care that much about it.

During that time, I was an Advertising grad working for Red Bull in the marketing department, and even thoughI had fun, I knew something was missing. It was an existential crisis right before my eyes. They say tough moments generate great ideas. For some reason, I decided to get back to something I was always…

--

--