UIScrollView with fade effect

Luis Machado
1 min readJun 23, 2017

--

While working on a project I needed to implement a nice fade effect on a scroll view as a mean to let the user know that there was more text (or anything else for that matter) than what was visible.

I didn't found, however, anything that I really liked as most of the examples that I discovered had mostly static fades. What I wanted was to have the fade appear or disappear accordingly to where you were on the scroll view. No need to have a fade out when you are right at the bottom of the page.

With that in mind I built a simple custom scroll which you can check here.

As you can see, this custom scrollview will fade out the top or the bottom (or both) of the view to show the user that he further scroll on that direction.

--

--